New Words For My Tool Vocabulary

Wednesday, July 23

How many of you have ever used a Pen Vice or Hemostat?

Looking around. Ok. One person. LOL!! Thought so.

If you are like me, clueless in the tool shed, not only have you never used them, you never even HEARD of them.

So… here’s the thing. (To coin a phrase from Adrian Monk.) I was sitting in class Sunday looking at the pile of tools covering the beading mat. And I mean covering it. There were several that looked the same, only difference being the tip. Round nose pliers, chain nose pliers, flat nose pliers, wire cutters. And a tape measure, polish cloth, file, scissors. Also included were tools used especially for ring making. A long metal ring mandrel, various plastic ring sizes on a chain, a rawhide mallet, a PEN VICE and a HEMOSTAT. Wow!! I had seen them all except the last two. No clue what they were or would be used for. After class, I decided to purchase these two and add them to my collection.

The Pen Vice is used to twist wire. It is pretty cool WHEN the wire is inserted into the right spot. The only thing moving on my first attempt was my wrist. LOL!! Did you know round wire will not twist?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


A hemostat is like a very long pair of scissors that clamps down tightly on an object. When making rings, it holds the shank in place so you do not have to worry about it shifting.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I will probably use the hemostat a lot. It will come in handy to hold wire when wirewrapping. Not sure how much use I will get out of the pen vice but it was cute, all nice and shiny. 😀

7 comments on “New Words For My Tool Vocabulary

  1. Cool…your hemostats have rubber thingies on them!

  2. don_mae says:

    Yep. I wish I had known about this tool months ago. I guess struggling makes learning worthwhile.

    You wanted a close up view of the aqua ring. Is that one above better? I still have no clue how to do a macro shot. I pressed “The Flower” but it just says On or Off. Just call me Clueless!!

  3. subeeds says:

    I love hemostats!!! They have soooooo many uses in jewelry making. I’m a seed beader and use them as a third hand sometimes and they ae really handy for getting a needle through a bead that’s already filled with thread.

  4. don_mae says:

    That’s a great idea!! Thanks!! I have been using my regular pliers to pull the needle through. Wonder what other tools are out there being used by beaders that I don’t know about.

  5. Christina says:

    Hi could you please tell me where you got the rubber tipped hemostats? site or etc.
    I need to purchase these but I’ve looked all over and haven’t found it.

    Thanks

  6. don_mae says:

    Hi there. I just sent you the details via e-mail.

  7. Christina says:

    Thank you don_mae very much and I’ve sent you a reply.

Leave a Reply

