Blue and Orange Necklace Made From Wire Caged Beads

Sunday, July 20

Time sure flies when the creative juices are flowing.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The six wire caged beads I made on Thursday were calling out to me.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I wanted to make something with them while they were fresh on my mind. When I finally finished and looked at the clock, I had been at it for over three hours. I never stopped to sip from my ever present lemon flavored ice water or to take a health break.

At first I made a bracelet but could only fit five of the cages within 7″ without making it too long. One cage was leftover. What to do? What to do with the one left? I have two ears so earrings were out of the question. Keychain? That was my next option. What about a pendant? One wire cage on a necklace was just too skimpy.

So… I took apart my nicely made bracelet and started over.

I made a necklace instead.

Using different sized glass beads in orange and blue, I spaced the caged beads about 2 1/2 inches apart. Seed beads and silver plated spacers were used as fillers. I finished off the top with silver chain links.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I wanted more color so I made a 2-strand necklace of seed beads. One orange and one blue to pick up the colors of the larger glass beads. 

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Looking it over I thought something was still missing. How about more chain links? So I added a separate length of chain.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Now I was satisfied. My necklace had layers. Three separate necklaces which could be worn all together or worn as one or two.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Supplies used for this project:

  • 6 wire cages made from 20 gauge wire
  • blue and orange glass beads; different shapes and sizes
  • silver plated oval spacers
  • 8/0 seed beads in orange and blue
  • chain links, silver plated
  • lobster claw clasps, silver plated
  • 10mm jump rings, silver plated
  • heart charms, silver plated
  • 4mm sterling silver round beads
  • silver plated wire guards
  • silver plated crimps
  • Beadalon #18 stringing wire