Wirewrapping With Copper and Beads

Saturday, July 5

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am happy to report that after only two days, my wirewrapping skills have improved. The wire gauge certainly makes a difference.

I am still working with practice wire. I want to get much better before I work with sterling silver. Or even gold filled wire, when I can afford it.

Late last night I was up, couldn’t sleep for all the boom, boom, hiss, hiss sounds from fireworks going off all over my neighborhood. I think I even heard a few gun pops mixed in. So I took my mind off all that racket by making some copper wire coils with my Coiling Gizmo and practiced wirewrapping.

This is what I made using 20 gauge copper colored wire from Darice. (The coils at the top right were made from 26 gauge wire.)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The swirly design was in one of my books. Looks sort of like a musical symbol. It didn’t turn out exactly like the picture in the book. My wire gauge is thinner but it came out well enough that I didn’t undo it and start over.

I plan to add a few more sections to this and make a necklace.

Playing With Wire… Look What I Made!!

Saturday, July 5

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Worked some more on my wireworking last night. I really like The Coiling Gizmo. It is very easy to operate. I wear a glove on my left hand to guide the wire so it wraps straight without kinking. Also saves me from getting friction burn on my fingers.

I started a little Wireworking Notebook and am making notes as I create stuff such as… one yard of 26 gauge wire yields 1 1/2″ of coiled wire. I can then refer back to these notes later when I need to.

Decided to make a bracelet out of the two cream colored wire coils I made the other night. I added two strands of bronze seed beads to each coil end. As I was working, I noticed the coils starting to twist. Rather than try to untwist, I went with it and added MY OWN TWIST.

Bracelet can be worn with one twist.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Or two twists. Just think. By accident, I created two different looks.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The clasp is kind of different. I found it in the button department at JoAnn’s.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I liked the bronze eyes and knew they would go perfectly with the bronze seed beads I had. Looks like a fish looking at you, doesn’t it? 😀

Don’t know if I should call this bracelet The Twister or Fish Eyes.