Practicing With My Coiling Gizmo

Friday, July 4

Still reading my wireworking books. Still working with my practice wire. And learning all about my new thing-a-my-bob.

The Coiling Gizmo.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Recently, a friend sent me a box of wonderful things. She had my name in the Fourth of July Pal Exchange. Included in the box was a gadget to curl and make things out of wire. It is called The Coiling Gizmo.

I immediately took it out of the box and started twirling wire on it right away. Didn’t even read the instructions. Not that there was much to read in the first place. From looking at the carton, I stuck the metal rod in the hole and turned. That’s it.

Well…actually there was a bit more to it. And I did have to give a shout out to hubby in the next room. He had to make a trip to the basement to dig out a C clamp for me. The directions called for either screwing the Gizmo into a block of wood or clamping it to a table with a C clamp. To tell you the truth, I never even heard of a C clamp and didn’t know if hubby had either. But 5 seconds later, there he was with C clamp in hand. 😀

I have it clamped to one of the work tables in my craft room. For now I will leave it where it is. It is out of the way of my beading and macrame areas. And since I am still in the learning, testing and messing up stages, I won’t need a lot of room.

So far, I have used up most of my 26 gauge red, navy and cream wire. I twirled it and made long coils. Now I have to figure out what to do with them. I shaped them into loops and twisted them together trying to decide what part of the body they would look best on. I added some bronze seed beads to the cream coils. Not sure where I am going with this. Just thinking and moving stuff around. My better half suggested I braid the coils. Hmmm. I think I will pass on that suggestion.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

What I have learned is that 26 gauge is very easy to work with. Mainly suited for wirewrapping. Not sturdy enough for much else. Also I have learned I don’t much like working with 16 gauge practice wire. It is WAY TOO HARD to bend.

Everything I have read said to practice with inexpensive wire. But it also said expensive wire is easier to work with. Go figure. I want to learn but I don’t want to make my hands ache anymore than I need to.

I am going to move up to 20 gauge wire next to see if it is a bit easier to work with.

One comment on “Practicing With My Coiling Gizmo

  1. I love your blog, and originally discovered it while searching for instructions on how to make a beaded toggle clasp. I also like working with wire, specifically for chain maille. Your coiling gizmo looks very similar to a handmade method my family set up to coil wire for jump rings to make chain maille. We would wind wire (what I worked with was much thicker than this) around a metal dowel rod using a drill attached to the rod to provide the torque. After coiling into a spring, we would use a Dremel tool to cut the spring into single rings. I wonder if your coiling gizmo would work in a similar way to cut thinner wire into smaller rings for jewelry?

Leave a Reply

