July is Wireworking Month

Tuesday, July 1

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This month should be interesting. I am looking forward to working with wire. I have been buying books for several months and studying the techniques and designs. And flipping through the pages looking for something that will be kind to my hands.

I have struggled with wirewrapping in my short jewelry making past and have avoided it like the plague. But there are so many beautiful pieces that can be created from wire and the only way to learn is by trying it. Experiment with different types and gauges. Hopefully my skills will improve and my hands hold up.

Here are the books I will be using as resources this month. There’s plenty here to get ideas from or to attempt the actually piece.

  • Contemporary Bead & Wire Jewelry by Nathalie Mornu & Suzanne J.E. Tourtillott. Lark Books, 2006.
  • Creating Wire and Beaded Jewelry by Linda Jones. North Light Books, 2004.
  • Beading with Charms by Katherine Duncan Aimone. Lark Books, 2007.
  • Findings & Finishings by Sharon Bateman. Interweave Press, 2003.
  • Creative Metal Clay Jewelry by CeCe Wire. Lark Books, 2007. (Not sure why I bought this one. I won’t be making any metal clay jewelry. But it was a bargain. 50% off. And it has great pictures.)
  • Step by Step Wire Jewelry. Interweave Press, Winter 2008, Vol 3, No 5.
  • Step by Step Wire Jewelry. Interweave Press, Summer 2008, Vol 4, No 2.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

7 comments on “July is Wireworking Month

  1. You’ll be fine! Have fun this month!

  2. Jenn says:

    Oh, I cant wait to see what you do. Hope you share some tips as well. I am actually terrified of trying to work with wire. I tried it years ago and just got frustrated. Perhaps you will inspire me to try again.
    Good luck!

  3. don_mae says:

    I struggle working with wire since I don’t have much strength in my hands any longer but I am going to try it anyway. I sure will share whatever tips I can. Thanks!!

  4. Jess says:

    This may sound really silly – but try hand exercises throughout the day -simple stretching -clenching your fist in and out – finger tapping. It might help a little. I play guitar and I have had problems with my hands too. I have strong hands but the repetition required in guitar playing can be strenous sometimes.
    I look forward to your wirework. I’ve dabbled in it a bit but it is an area I really want to explore more. By the way, I’ve had a massive increase in views lately, all coming from Israel (I have found out they have linked me through some forum over there). So as I have linked you they are coming here too ; )
    see ya soon
    jess

  5. don_mae says:

    I’ll try those hand exercises. Thanks!! And thanks for the extra traffic to my blog!!

  6. Good Luck! That’s how I learned wirework and now I’m getting published in the Winter 2010 Issue of Step by Step wire jewelry that comes out the end of this month. Who’d a thought it? I sure didn’t. So have fun and create! Wirework has turned out to be one of my most favorite ways to create.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Terri Faye. Congrats to you on being published. I dream of that one day. I plan to purchase that issue when it comes out.

Leave a Reply

