Macrame Purses: Before & After

Tuesday, June 10

I know, I know.. it took me awhile to circle back around to work on these macrame purses. I bet you thought I had forgotten.

On 5-21 I posted, More Macrame Purses Coming. And true to my word, here they are.

BEFORE

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

AFTER

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com

Used 113 yards of 6mm braided macrame cord.

Measurements:

  • Length 12 1/2″
  • Height without handles 9″
  • Height with handles 14″
  • Width 1 1/2″

BEFORE

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

AFTER

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com

Used 98 yds of 6mm braided macrame cord.

Measurements:

  • Length 10″
  • Height without straps 8 1/4″
  • Height with straps 12″
  • Width 1 1/2″

I have made many macrame purses over the years but had never tried either of these designs before. Both purses were really easy. Only had to consult the instructions twice. Once for the brown one, when creating and attaching the flap and another time for the lavender one, when creating the “V” shape in the front and back. Anyway you slice it, a square knot is a square knot. I can usually look at the picture and figure it out. Like cooking your favorite dish. You don’t need to look any longer at the recipe.

I am hoping the brown purse is a hit with a chat buddy of mine. She asked me to make her a macrame purse several months ago. She knew I was just getting back into macraming so said there was no rush. Not really sure what she would like, I searched through my macrame purse books and selected this one. I changed up a bit from the original instructions. I added the beads on differently and made it wider and longer. So after looking at the directions to add on the flap, it was just me and the knots, going to town.

The lavender purse was fun to make. So much fun, I have already started another one in peach and will probably make several more in summer colors. No added cost for a purse handle. It is all cord. And quite easy to make. I don’t think I will sew buttons on any of the others. I only added buttons to the lavender one since, # 1, it is Button Month, and # 2, I had a lot of lavender and purple buttons to use up.

There are so many other things you can make with macrame cord. Not sure if you have ever seen or heard of the Chinese Crown Knot. It is really a cool knot. Very easy to make. You only need two hands and a pair of knees. This knot can be used in so many ways. I have used it in plant hangers, candles, corn stalks, animal noses, snakes and bracelets. Once I get over my obsession with purses, I will show you how to create things using it.


Macrame Cord Suppliers

http://www.kingskountry.com

http://www.macramecords.com

http://www.munrocrafts.com/

15 comments on “Macrame Purses: Before & After

  1. goffcouture says:

    These are lovely and manage to be both craftsy and chic.

  2. don_mae says:

    Thanks!! I finished the peach one this morning and have the cord cut to make a white one.

  3. aurora says:

    You did it very well with these purses. I like the idea of the handle made of cord. I will be watching for other ideas and your new works.
    Macrame is in vogue now.

  4. don_mae says:

    Thanks so much!! I have been searching through my old macrame books looking for ideas and projects to make. I have an idea for a necklace which I hope can also be worn as a belt. I also finished up some mother/daughter purses I need to take photos of and get posted.

    As to the brown purse up there, my chat buddy loved it!! I need to get it lined and mailed off to her.

    Thanks for reading my blog.

  5. maribel says:

    BEAUTIFUL purses! I’m just learnign to learn a little about macrame and only know how to do keychains.
    I’d be so greatful for ilustrated instructions on the purses you’ve made. I sure would be a great challenge.

    Keep up the good work
    Maribel

  6. don_mae says:

    Hi there, thanks so much for the compliments on my work. I LOVE to macrame. Always have since the early 80’s. Then Life and the JOB got in the way. But now I am retired and can tie knots all day long.

    Check out my macrame tutorials. I have one on making a belt which is for the person just learning.

    Also here is one I did on a purse.

    https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2008/05/18/how-to-macrame-a-purse/

    Happy to answer any questions you have. Good luck with your learning.

  7. Betty Lindsey( Nana) says:

    …and I really, really, really love the brown one!
    Big hugs,
    Nana

  8. don_mae says:

    HEY!! It’s my chat buddy!! LOL!! I am soooooo glad you love it.

  9. angie says:

    hi,
    i am new to macrama
    could anyone if me some tips

  10. don_mae says:

    Hi there Angie. I have lots of macrame tutorials here on my blog. Did you see them?

  11. Audrey Moore says:

    Hello:

    I want to thank you for quick response for my request for the purse pattern. I have some questions for you.
    1.) When a pattern calls for X ammount of cord is it exact, the reason I’am asking is the purse I would like to make calls for 110 yards of cord. The cord is sold in a bundle of 100 yds. 2.) Where do find your beads. 3.) Do you have a book of your purse patterns, every purse that I’ve seen on your site is beautiful.
    If there is such a book, where can it be ordered.
    Thanks
    Audrey

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Audrey. To answer your questions…

      1. You can make changes to the pattern such as eliminating a few rows. I do that a lot. 10 yards spread out over the entire purse won’t make that much difference in finished size. Reduce each cord by the same amount.

      2. I have beads I have had for over 30 years. Some of them would be called vintage and probably are no longer available for purchase. Recent bead purchases were from Munro Crafts and Fire Mountain. The beads used for the cream macrame purse came from Munro Crafts.

      http://www.munrocrafts.com/

      3. I have lots of books dated back to the late 70’s. I started macraming in the middle-late 80’s. A lot of the purses, I just took ideas from here and there and came up with my own patterns. King Kountry has a lot of the books I have. Check them out.

      http://www.kingskountry.com/

      Thanks much for your compliments on my work and good luck with your purse!!

  12. Sapna says:

    how do I measure each cord and how many cords

  13. My family members all the time say that I am wasting my time here at net, except I
    know I am getting know-how everyday by reading such fastidious articles.

  14. Shikha Mittal says:

    Both the purses are really beautiful.. Please help me in making them. Specially that lavander one. I’ll be really greatful to you..
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

