1520 Macrame Knots

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Wow!! Is this HUGE or what!! I wanted to make a big purse but didn’t think it would make up this large. There are 1520 macrame knots in this purse. I counted them. Well, actually I counted two rows to double check the count and multiplied by the number of rows. 😀

And the purse used 258 yards of cords. It will hold a lot of stuff. I bet it will hold a laptop. Maybe TWO laptops!!

It took several days working on and off to complete. My hands, fingers and arms ached and got tired so I worked about five rows at a time.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I took frequent breaks to rest them and once pulled out my smelly and stinky Jointritis to rub gently on my right arm. Whenever I use it, I am REALLY in pain. It smells so awful and lingers until my next shower. 😀

This is how much I had knotted after a day and a half.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Purse was made similar to the other cream one I blogged about, just larger and with only one row of wooden beads.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It was tied with the beginning Square Knot Sections, 18 rows of Alternating Square Knots, one beaded section and then 12 more rows of Alternating Square Knots. I could have used an extra pair of knees when closing up the bottom.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Not sure what I will do with it. For now, I am just enjoying looking at it.

Measurements: Length 19 1/2″, Height without straps 14″ and width 2″ at its widest, the bottom. Straps measure 26 1/2″.

Macrame Cord: 6mm Braided in cream

258 Yards Used:

  • 3 yard cords for body (72)
  • 6 yard cords for straps (4)
  • 4 1/2 yard cords for straps (4)

Macrame Cord Suppliers

http://www.kingskountry.com

http://www.macramecords.com

http://www.munrocrafts.com/

21 comments on “1520 Macrame Knots

  1. aurora says:

    This purse is amazing .This size is in fashion now. You can put a laptop in it.
    I want to thank you for promoting the macrame technique through this posts.I have doing macrame (big or small) since my early years. Once I get the bug its hard to let go.
    Check out my blog.

  2. don_mae says:

    Thanks!! I want to make one in black. I have been macraming on and off since the early 80’s. I have always loved it.

  3. elizabeth brown says:

    Do you have actual instructions step by step for this purse and the brown one. I would like to make these but don’t if I can do it by just looking at the picture.
    Thanks for your help

  4. don_mae says:

    Hi there. I searched my notebook and I guess I didn’t make any notes on cord length, etc… I made it like this one, only larger.

    https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2008/05/18/how-to-macrame-a-purse/

  5. neida thompson says:

    I need the pattern and it’s been a long time since I macrame . could you send me info and basic patern info. and if I can order macrome cored

  6. Mme Houria ZIANI says:

    My english is bad, but try to write.

    since two weeks, i look for a cord of macrame, but i don’t found any things. do you want to help me to found a materials of macrame.
    i am in France.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi there. Look up. Right under my post is a list of suppliers that I use. I am sure they will ship to France. Good luck.

  7. Sonnethawk says:

    Wow! I never saw this post! I’ve seen the pattern for this, but it is something I don’t think I would want to tackle. I’m not a “purse” person, per se. Great job though!

    • don_mae says:

      OMGosh!! Did WordPress send you an e-mail on this post? I had deactivated it because I was running a guessing game at one of my quilt groups. I had everyone try to guess the number of knots. The game ended yesterday so I reactivated the post today. I didn’t mean for all of my e-mail readers to get notified. Ooops. 😀

  8. hankkie says:

    GEORGEOUS! Love all the hard labour that went into this! Used to do a lot of Macrame when I was in school in Holland, and I still can do some of the stitches, even though I might have to cheat to start some projects of how the stitches are. thanks for a nice project.

  9. I LOVE this bag and I want one! Please make a tutorial for this one!!! I think you could earn some extra dough if you created a pattern/tutorial and sold it! I would definitely purchase one!

    • don_mae says:

      Hey Kimberly… I made it similar to the tutorial I have posted on my blog. Click on Tutorials up top. This one is just larger but how to make it is the same.

  10. Btw….did you line the interior? Can we have an interior photo next time?????

    • don_mae says:

      Oops.. I forgot to answer your question. Nope, I didn’t line it. I should have. It would have been pretty with a polka dot lining. It sold on Etsy a couple years ago. Thanks for the question.

  11. Jenny says:

    Wow, what a lovely purse! Your patience with macramé is astounding! I would love to do something like this, but just to have enough physical space for the increda-long cord would be discouraging.

    Great job!

  12. LisaD says:

    That is just beautiful!

  13. Lennette says:

    It’s beautiful Donna, absolutely BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!! I’ve never tried macrame because I stay too busy with beading and quilting and since you’re the one who got me hooked on beading, I’m almost afraid to try it because that will just be one more addiction!!! LOL

  14. thuylavender says:

    you can make video

  15. shweta rana says:

    Hume isme jo huk bali not kese lagate h bataiye kya

Leave a Reply

