Sewing Day 12: Living Large

Saturday, May 3

This tote is HUGE!! I had no idea it would make up this big!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is the purse I had planned to make with my wild and crazy fabric. Can’t do it now for two reasons. I would look like an idiot coming down the street with it, feeling like everyone was looking at me. 😀 And #2, I don’t have enough of my wild fabric to make it. It really takes a lot of fabric. I used four Fat Quarters of the printed fabric. So..I will save it and make something else.

This tote was made from Kwik Sew Pattern 3133, Bag A. I had no problem understanding and following the pattern instructions.

I am just about done. I need to finish turning one of the straps, sew the straps to the lining and then sew the lining to the purse.

If I make another one, I will use heavier fabric for the entire tote. It will make a nice book bag.

3 comments on “Sewing Day 12: Living Large

  1. Quilty says:

    Donna, you have me in fits of laughter with these posts! You are certainly “on a roll” when it comes to making bags.

    You think you would look an idiot… well, I think you would be “making a statement” but I wont say exactly what that statement might be. 😀

    Now why don’t you just buy up your local Jo-Ann’s that is closing? You could fill it with heaps of bags to sell, and own all the supplies to use up yourself.

  2. Belinda says:

    Quilty has a good idea about buying out the JoAnn’s that is closing. 😀

    I like this tote bag, too! Yes, I do think that the name “Bag Lady” is quite suitable for you right now. 😉 😀

  3. don_mae says:

    Bag Lady!! Yep, that tis me. 😀

    My closet certainly doesn’t need anymore clothes so that is why I picked handbags. They are fun to make.

    This one, I finished adding the handles and sewing the lining to the tote. It came out really nice. I am toying with the idea of inserting some really heavy duty interfacing. The kind that will stand up by itself. Got to figure out how I want to do it. Just go around the bag or also the bottom to hold it all together. It looks nicer with a sturdier base.

Leave a Reply

