Sewing Day 11: Dog Day Afternoon

Saturday, May 3

Yep, I have been sewing…still. 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have actually been working on these purses with doggy fabric for several days. Didn’t want to get too far behind so thought I would post what I am working on.

These just need the strap sewn on the sides. I found this strap when going through my craft supplies. I don’t remember how long I have had it but it works perfectly for these little totes. Adds a hint of a doggy collar or leash.

These totes/purses are quick to make, now that I have made so many of them. If you want to try your hand at it, you just need 1/2 yard of two different fabrics. The doggy fabric I purchased by the yard from JoAnn Fabric and Crafts a couple years ago. (Probably that’s when I purchased the black strap.) The black print fabric was a Fat Quarter 18″ by 22″. Fabric must be a square for both pieces. I used 18″ square.

I also made a larger tote in denim and red fabric with tiny white hearts. I had to buy special denim needles to sew the sides together. Size 16. They work great. No more jamming.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Haven’t decided how I will finished this one up. Probably a shoulder strap. I have about two yards of denim left. Next time I get my hands on a 50% off coupon at JoAnn’s, I will replenish my supply.

3 comments on “Sewing Day 11: Dog Day Afternoon

  1. Quilty says:

    What, only 2 yards left? !!! 😀

  2. don_mae says:

    😀

    I like working with denim. Had rarely sewn with it before. Yep, got to make a trip to JoAnn’s before they shut the doors for good. 😦

  3. Belinda says:

    I like all the purses, but of course, I especially like the doggy fabric. 😀

Leave a Reply

