Sewing Day 9: The Cafe

Friday, April 25

Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com

Yippee!! I am so happy!! I have the next five hours to do as I please. Hubby is making a run to Indiana in hopes of winning $150 million (yeah, right) or whatever the magic number is currently. I am sure the Lottery registers are spitting out tickets as fast as the clerks can type.

Michigan has a state lottery but it does not participate in the PowerBall game. So to buy a ticket you have to travel to the closest city across state lines. Not only will hubby be making a wish list and checking it twice, as he drives along, he will have his precious Garmin, with its precise directions, to keep him company. It is a neat gadget but I tell you, if I had to spend more than an hour listening to “turn left, turn right, turn here” from Miss Soft Sweetness, that thing would be a heap of metal littering the highway.

Well, anyhoo, back to my happiness… The Cafe.

I belong to one of THE best online groups out there. How do I know this? Because everyone says so. A few of the members have known each other since around 2002 having originally met online at one of eBay’s Discussion Boards. A place for like-minded individuals to seek assistance on their latest hobbies and for the more talented crafters to offer help wherever it was needed. I fell kind of in the middle. Not a complete idiot newbie but not a perfect 10 either on the expert scale.

Then when eBay decided to go in a new direction and created the Groups format, some people from the board started their own group. A place to be yourself and chat about what’s on your mind. A place to share new ideas, ask questions and offer tips. A place to go if you just needed a hug, anytime you needed one. Some of the original members have moved on to other paths in their lives, but new people regularly find The Cafe and join in.

After almost six years, we are still going strong. I think it is because WE LIKE EACH OTHER!! We really like each other!! We are truly interested in what the members are doing. One popular and active thread is “What Is Everyone Working On At The Moment?” It is one of my first stops when visiting The Cafe. We also have group projects where one member will post a project for others to try.

Which brings me to the reason for my post today. I am making “Popcorn’s Project”.

It is a tote bag made by folding material in a specific way and top stitching some seams. Add a carrying handle and you are done.

Where am I? About in the middle of all that folding and stitching. This is what my purse looks like thus far.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I may just leave it like this. Unfinished and open. Not like I have any money to put in it anyway. Hubby is not back yet with the $150 million!! Wish me luck. Both with finishing this tote AND winning the lottery!!

7 comments on “Sewing Day 9: The Cafe

  1. Not only do we like each other…it’s LOVE! 🙂 ROFL!

    😡

  2. HEY! How did that grumpy face get there? I did a kissy face!

  3. don_mae says:

    😡

  4. don_mae says:

    That is weird. I copied eBay’s love smiley and got the same meanie looking one you did. Strange.

  5. don_mae says:

    Yep, it is a regular lovefest. 😀

  6. Sharon aka oreo says:

    Good luck with the tote and the lottery :-D!

  7. Quilty says:

    Yay, not a bad bunch (considering that all but one – me! – are Northern Hemisphere types) and a pretty forgiving lot. 😉

    Better get on with the bag, Donna. If hubby wins then you will have a few other things on your mind. And the snippy Miss Garmin will be the least of them! 😀

Leave a Reply

