Sewing Day 2: Test Drive Barbie

Tuesday, April 8, 2008

Well, I am finished with Square Dancing purse #1.

I decided to make a “test” purse first. Didn’t want to make a mess of perfectly good denim and checkered gingham. Didn’t follow the pattern and instructions much. I got them from Janome’s website. The “pattern” printed out on one sheet of 8 1/2″ by 11″ paper. It was shaped like a rectangle. There was one more piece shaped like a cup but I couldn’t get it to print out. The instructions showed how to sew the purse on a serger. And since I do not have a serger, I glanced briefly at their directions then set them aside. I referred back to the picture I found in Janome’s Summer 2007 Digest. So basically, this purse was created by sight and Janome’s rectangle. Talk about winging it!! Not bad, huh?

 

I used Barbie Fashion University fabric in blue, pink and yellow. The print on the fabric faces all different directions; top, bottom, sideways. So I didn’t have to worry about lining up shapes when cutting. I used hot pink cotton for the ruffle and lining. Lining? Oh yeah. Nothing was mentioned in the instructions about a lining. That was just me, winging it again.

This purse turned out much smaller than I pictured. With the flap folded, it measures 6 1/2″ length and 9″ height. Flat it measures 14″ in height. The inside compartment measures 7″ deep. Shoulder strap is 28″.

Now that I know what to do and what NOT to do, I will go ahead and cut out the denim purse. I think I will make it slightly larger. After this, I will be using a REAL pattern for my next project.

12 comments on “Sewing Day 2: Test Drive Barbie

  1. Sharon aka oreo says:

    Cute purse! Sometimes I make a test item first. It certainly helps. I would probably make it bigger too.

  2. Joni says:

    If you have a 3rd grader that Barbie fabric will be her “fav” good luck with the real one!

  3. don_mae says:

    Thanks!! I was going to start the denim one tonight but these old eyes need all the help they can get. I will wait for the sun to come up Wednesday. 😀

    I am going to make a slightly larger size for the next one.

  4. Quilty says:

    Not at all bad! I think I will have to post my “pocket” that I made, and you can copy that as well. It hangs from your belt and has two pockets, one being buttoned, the other open but a tad deeper. I made it from denim lined with Liberty of London cotton lawn. I’m sure it is an idea you could work with. I’ll take photos tomorrow to show you. Good luck with the denim and gingham. I’m looking forward to seeing that one too.

  5. don_mae says:

    Ok. I may use it as one of my projects for this month. Do I have to make it by sight? 😀

  6. Quilty says:

    Yes, I’m afraid so. Oh wait, I might be able to find you a reference for a pattern – if you can find yourself a copy of the book it comes from. I’ll look for it in the morning. 🙂

  7. Belinda says:

    That is a cute purse! What seam allowance did you use? Sometimes home dec and accessory items have a 1/2 inch seam allowance, rather than 5/8. You could make another test purse and experiment with seam allowances to see if it would make a slight difference in size. I suspect it wouldn’t make enough of a difference to matter much, though.

    Some little girl will just love that purse! 😀 Great job on sewing with real fabric. 😉

  8. I think you did a great job even if the pattern was troublesome.

    I think some little girl would love that purse too. I don’t know at what age they play with Barbies. My daughters are now out of that stage.

  9. don_mae says:

    Thanks!! I did sew 1/2″. I was thinking any larger and the purse would be even smaller.

    I can remember dropping my dolls around the age I became interested in boys. 😀

  10. Quilty says:

    OK Donna, now go and take a look over yonder (in the Café) as there is a thread there just right for you, hehehe! 🙂

  11. don_mae says:

    On my way there now…. Thanks!!

  12. don_mae says:

    Wonderful projects, Quilty. Can’t wait to get started on them. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

