April is Sewing Month

Well, here I am. True to my word. I will focus on sewing for the month of April. 

I am getting ready to sew something. But sew what? Two weeks ago I went to JoAnn’s for some ideas. I flipped through about ten pattern books. Found the perfect “first item to sew”, went to the pattern file cabinet to get it, it was out of stock. Bummer. I was bummed not only because of my time wasted flipping pages but it was something I really wanted to make. Now it will have to wait until either I locate the pattern or I make the pattern myself. The former is more likely to happen. I could probably make the pattern, have done it before. But that was ages ago, what my hubby likes to call, “Back in the day.”

Back in the day, as a young child and teen-ager, I LOVED to sew.

I remember making doll clothes, then I began sewing my own clothes, mainly casual outfits but also dresses and suits. Took sewing classes in high school and at home, I sewed from Vogue patterns.  One pattern was for a dress with full velvet skirt and white satin bodice. It had this HUGE velvet bow hanging from the back. The velvet was jeweltone blue. I still remember it. I thought I was hot to trot.  Wearing Vogue!!  Years later, my hubby (boyfriend at that time), told me he hated that dress!! He preferred me in tighter fitted clothing. Hmmm, wonder why, LOL!!

Ok, ok…back on topic.  Lately my sewing talents have been used mostly for closing holes in socks and mending raveling towels and washcloths.

So.. you are probably wondering, what’s my motivation to sew now, after all these years?

My new Janome. I saw it online, drooled over the photos and online demonstration of all the bells and whistles. I had to have it. I couldn’t possibly live another second without it. Visited our local Janome Distributor.  Took it home the next day.

That was a year ago when I welcomed IT into my home. I am sad to say that I have not been a very good hostess. I have ignored it, hidden it away, lost the cable, forgotten how to thread it. I could go on and on but I will spare you the full mistreatment list.

So…for the month of April, my sewing machine will be my new best friend. BFF!!

And here it is.

Introducing Janome Memory Craft 10001. It embroiders too.      

janome-10001.jpg

I will pick some fun items to begin with and then MAYBE choose something more practical. We shall see.  

Here’s a couple things I would like to make but that will be further down the road. Miles down the road. Something like a year from now. 😀

collectorquilt.jpg  l_100227334.jpg

7 comments on “April is Sewing Month

  1. Why a year from now for that pretty wall quilt?! 😦

  2. don_mae says:

    Because I am stupid. 😀

    Because you won’t help me.

  3. Hey! I never said that! :p

    Hmmm…maybe I should see what the airfare is to Detroit. I can visit you and my friend April.

  4. And you’re not stupid! If you can take to beading that dang fast, you have nothing to fear from quilting! Silly woman!

  5. don_mae says:

    You will have to stay until it is completely finished.

    Quilting scares me. I think because I haven’t used that cutting thingy much. I don’t want to chop off one of my fingers. All those little pieces. All that cutting.

  6. Belinda says:

    It’s about time that you started doing some real sewing! 😉 :p I’m glad to see that your Janome will no longer be lonely. 😉 😀

    Piecing a quilt top is really quite easy so don’t be afraid of that! Once you make one quilt top, and then quilt it and sew it into a “real” quilt, you’ll be addicted. Now that you’re sewing with fabric, you just might get addicted to that, too. 😉

    Happy Sewing!

  7. don_mae says:

    I am going to try quilting, just don’t know when. Thanks for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

