Beading: Tools of the Trade

Don’t you just hate starting a project and then having to stop…because you forgot this or that? Been there, done that, many times.  To help me when stitching peyote jewelry, I gathered all the TOOLS I thought I would need and placed them within an arm’s reach.  Now I can usually start a project and continue working until I need a potty break.

These are my Tools of the Trade

               Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Most of these items are self-explanatory but I have added a few tidbits to those not quite so obvious.

  • alligator clips
  • bead design board
  • felt mat
  • flat nose pliers
  • gloves (to save my hands when I am stretching & conditioning the thread)
  • glue
  • headpins (to keep the beginning rows lined up)
  • light source (I use a small Ott-Lite. Excellent for matching up colors.)
  • magnetic tool (ok, so I have the dropsies)
  • masking tape (to keep the beginning rows lined up)
  • matches (to burn a tiny “bead” where thread exits a finished piece)
  • needles
  • ruler
  • scissors
  • spoon (to scoop up beads quickly)
  • thread
  • Thread Heaven (thread conditioner)
  • t-pin (to pick out boo-boo’s)
  • tweezers  (to pull thread through needles or tiny spaces)   

So there you have it.  What are your favorite craft tools?                     

2 comments on “Beading: Tools of the Trade

  1. Holy Toledo Woman! 😀 You’re funny.

  2. don_mae says:

    LOL!! I am trying.

Leave a Reply

