Decision Made On My Wonky HST’s


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

OK.

I have decided.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is how I will proceed with my Wonky Half-Square Triangle blocks.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I thought I had enough polka dots. I have purple, hot pink, navy, orange, red, royal, kelly green, yellow, black, baby blue, gray and avocado. But now I am thinking I need a few more. Turquoise and white. Or aqua and white would be pretty. Baby pink. Maybe…

Seven more blocks are pinned and ready to sew.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have to use my walking foot to sew these. To get up and over the beginning “hump”. Otherwise I am sewing in place and making a thread ball.

How do you sew over bulky seams? Do tell.

8 comments on “Decision Made On My Wonky HST’s

  1. Joyce Mosby says:

    Sometimes lengthening your stitch length works.

  2. Gaby says:

    Hi, Donna!
    You keep doing amazing quilts!
    Better and better…
    Beso!

  3. Janneke says:

    Wow, these look so cool! Can you maybe explain to me (or give a link) how you make those triangle blocks so neatly? I am almost finished with my first quilt ever, and I think I want to try something with diagonal blocks next!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Janneke, I am starting off as a square and turning the block on the tips to make it “look” like a triangle. I plan to make a tut or pattern once I am done. Thanks so much for the question.

  4. Deb says:

    Donna, do you want another scraps box? Are there any colors you really want or need? My scraps bins are getting super full and I’ve got plenty to send your way if you’d like them! Been doing so much sewing the last week and clearing out big pieces of fabric, but making more little pieces… lol.

    If yes, drop me an email with your mailing address (again). I’d love to send them to you and reorganize my fabric stashes with more room. :)

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Debra, yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, yes. :D

      I work with any and all colors. Send away. Thanks a bunch!!

  5. Crystal says:

    As usual, you have been a BUSY lady, Donna! :-)

    I’m in awe of the quantity of things you are making or have made.

    How do you store them when they are finished? Have you considered approaching a gift shop to carry your work? I’m thinking it’s either that or asking your hubby to give up his side of the closet.

    Beautiful, beautiful, work!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Crystal!! Awwwwwww… I am blushing.

      Right now I have stuff all over the place. I am too lazy to list them on Etsy and hate that to sell anything on eBay, you have to start at a ridiculously low starting price. So… my stuff piles up until I gift it, donate to charity or use it. One day I will list a quilt on Etsy. Getting there. Funny about asking hubby to give up his side of the closet. He would do it. I have way more stuff than he does. :D

Leave a Reply

