Plugging Along… 1/4 Inch At A Time


I decided a few straight lines just wasn’t enough for my Crossroads to Jericho table runner. It needed something more. MORE straight lines. One fourth inch apart.

Here I am plugging along. Working with the 9 patch areas.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Thank goodness there are only eight. Or I would still be quilting into next week. Going back and forth in such a small section is very time consuming. Start. Stop. And no matter how carefully I turned to go up and down, you can still see where I sewed. I went around the 9 patch block to try to camouflage it a bit. Oh well. I did the best I could.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Two more sections to quilt straight lines and then on to the fun part. And hopefully the faster part. Stippling. Or loopy loops in the border area and maybe the triangles.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Should have it finished by Friday. Need to work on some of my other UFO’s.

8 comments on “Plugging Along… 1/4 Inch At A Time

  1. Lennette says:

    Your quilting looks fantastic!!! I never pre-wash any of my fabrics so when I do a lot of quilting like you’re doing, and then I wash the finished quilt, everything shrinks a little bit and the quilt gets a little puckery (one of my favorite non-words!) and gets a really antique feel to it. I love this pattern!!

  2. Belinda says:

    I also think your quilting looks great! I have been trying some stippling on some practice quilts, but that really seems to hurt my wrists and it doesn’t look that great. Do you have any pointers? For me, the walking foot just seems to work better.

  3. This is so pretty and your quilting looks great! Well worth your effort…

  4. don_mae says:

    Hi Ladies!! Thanks so much. Love your comments on my table runner. I finished quilting it and now just have to do the binding. Don’t have enough of any fabric except the floral so that is what I will use.

    Lennette, I like that puckery look too. Ah Ha… I see you are quilting again. :D

    Belinda, I know what you mean about your wrists hurting. Happens to me too. I do a lot of stop and go. You might try instead of having your hands flat on both sides of where you are quilting, try it with one hand under one side (grabbing it to guide the quilt) and one flat on top on the other side. I have tried the hands flat on both sides and struggle getting the quilt to move. Keep practicing. You will get better at it. My first stippling was awful but I loved it anyway.

    Deb, thank you. I am loving how this turned out. Just told hubby I might make one in black, white and red. Now he wants me to make him a quilt. NOT!! :D

  5. That is beautiful quilting. I’m going to have to remember that!

  6. Crystal says:

    Awwww…. now that’s the perfect compliment if hubby wants a quilt! :-D
    (So glad the new machine is quickly becoming an old friend!)

    • don_mae says:

      Hey Crystal… and get this. NOW he wants “something” in black so he can put some red flowers in it. HUH!! LOL!! Am truly loving so far all the bells and whistles I have figured out. So much more to learn.

Leave a Reply

