Crossroads Quilt Top, Leaders and Enders Quilt Blocks and Charity Pillowcases


It’s been awhile since my last post. But I am still here. Alive and kicking.

Want to see what I have been working on?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I finished the quilt top for my Crossroads to Jericho blocks near the end of February. Nine rows across and eight rows down. 72 blocks. Each block is 9″ square. I ended up with 20 extras and could probably make the quilt top wider or longer. But for now, I think I will leave it as is. 78″ by 70″.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It wasn’t until I was sewing Rows 3 and 4 together that I figured out an easier way to get the points to line up correctly. It isn’t perfect but I am happy with how it turned out. Here are a couple closeups.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


And in between making that quilt top, I made all of these blocks.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am calling them my Leaders and Enders scrappy quilt blocks because that is how they were made. Sewing this way slows you down a bit but time I have. I wasn’t in a rush. There are 56 blocks up on my design wall. Ready for me to sew together.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Each block measures 10″ square. Most are Log Cabin or my version of the Log Cabin. I let the fabric speak to me and placed it where I thought it looked best.

These are my favorites.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The BEST PART… I now have my scraps totally under control. I started off with a handful of each color (except brown, saving them for later). I thought about cutting and trimming each scrap, Scrap Management, and doing what the “experts” say to do. But then I would still be cutting and trimming. I decided to Grab and Sew working from a huge pile of scraps plunked down right in the center of my work table. I even used my stash when I ran out of longer strips for the last round (10″ strip). That felt really great. Scraps and Stash. Even selvages were used for several blocks.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Did I use up all of my scraps? Nope. Still have lots left. But I did take the time to somewhat organize what was left by size. Long strips, squares/rectangles/odd shapes. And bits. LOTS of bits. A huge bag full of them. Tiny pieces 1 1/2″ or smaller. I couldn’t part with them. I will use them for smaller projects like doll quilts.


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I also made my charity pillowcases the L and E way. In between everything else. Hubby said it looked like a tornado had hit my sewing room. I have to admit, I had stuff everywhere but it was organized stuff. I knew where everything was. Originally I was setting aside two or three days a month to make the pillowcases. But sewing them as enders has worked out great.

Don’t you love these fabrics!! Bright. Bold. I made 22 for February and already have seven started for March.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Sorry I didn’t do a February roundup to show you what I made. I didn’t make a lot of stuff. Mostly I worked on Crossroads to Jericho blocks, Scrappy Trip Around the World blocks and my BOM blocks. Oh, and I made a heart themed mug rug for a swap in one of my quilt groups. I will post photos on my sidebar.

Hope you have been crafting and doing what you love. Did you miss me? :D


Linking up to…

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2013/03/mini-sunday-morning.html

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2013/03/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-little-designing.html

http://richardquilts.blogspot.com/2013/03/link-finish-friday-58.html

http://aroundtheblockdesigns.blogspot.com/2013/03/really-random-thursday-31413.html

http://www.sew-much-ado.com/2013/03/we-did-it-wednesday_12.html

http://www.conniekresin.com/2013/03/linky-tuesday_12.html

17 comments on “Crossroads Quilt Top, Leaders and Enders Quilt Blocks and Charity Pillowcases

  1. Janneke says:

    Wow, lovely colours, as always! I am looking forward to starting on my own first quilt (I planned making a disappearing-nine top), and I guess I will keep even the smallest scraps. It really inspires me to see what you can do with even the smallest pieces of fabric, you do a good job at that ;)

  2. Gaby says:

    Donna!!! I missed you a lot!!!
    Happy you are back!
    Great job as always!

  3. Lennette says:

    Oh my gosh Donna…I get tired just looking at everything you’ve been doing…I don’t know where you get your energy! Your quilt top is beautiful!!!! The pillow cases are wonderful and the extra blocks you made are awesome!!!! I’m so glad you posted everything on your blog because last night I was worried about you because you hadn’t posted in a while.

  4. Kerstin says:

    Wow, you’ve been productive! Love tha Jericho quilt, the black really makes the other colors pop.

  5. Janine says:

    You’ve been busy! The Jericho quilt is fab and I love your log cabin blocks :)

  6. Fabadashery says:

    Boy, you have been busy. Great to see your scrap quilts, especially those with the selvedges, nothing is wasted!

  7. annie toy says:

    What fun quilts!!! they are all so bright and cheery…and, that you’ve incorporated lots of scraps is even more que-el =D

    hugZ,
    annie

  8. Maja says:

    Very interesting to see how much you have done and how fine your woorks are!

  9. Crystal says:

    Hi Donna!
    Wow – the overall effect of those blocks, with their vibrant colors, arranged on your design wall is absolutely stunning!
    (Missed ya! :-) )

  10. sdaurio says:

    Wow, I’m exhausted looking all you did!! Love the Crossroads to Jericho!!

  11. Connie says:

    Crossroads to Jericho is beautiful and I always love string blocks. Using the selvage like that is neat! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  12. My, you are so creative! I like those scrappy log cabin squares a lot and the pillowcases – WOW!

  13. liveacolorfullife says:

    So many great things. Of course I’m in love with the selvage blocks!

  14. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone, that WAS a lot of stuff I made. I surprised myself. And I have even more to show you!! I didn’t show you my progress on my ScrappyTripAroundTheWorld. Plus I have two other quilts in the making. Have to take photos.

    Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment about my projects. Loving them and loving you. I missed you guys too. I hope to not stay away so long.

  15. Sarah Craig says:

    You sure have a lot of beautiful eye candy there! Love both the quilts especially… Whoop whoop!

  16. Britt G. says:

    Love your scrappy quilt and especially the blocks made out of selvages. The Crossroads to Jericho quilt is amazing. What an inspiring image!

  17. rhealey101r says:

    Thank you for linking up in March to Richard and Tanya Quilts on our Link a Finish Friday. We will have a new linkup available every Friday. So stop by and share what you have been working on and check out what others are doing.

Leave a Reply

