Novelty Quilt Top Is Finished


Letters. Numbers. Crayons. Text. Puzzle pieces. And more. Enough to keep a child entertained for hours.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I finished sewing all the squares and added the borders yesterday. Lots of breath holding during the sewing.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I rarely work with blue. And I rarely work with solids. So making this quilt top provided plenty of pause moments for me. Doubts and what if’s. I so wanted to go with black for the border. My go-to-black-polka-dots which I love.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

But the Camera Knows Best. Blue it would be. Unsure and all, that is what I went with.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I love how it turned out!!

For about a minute, I thought of making a second one. But I am more of a one-of-a-kind gal. I make up the design as I go and lots of times I am working with scraps and leftover pieces. With the leftovers I will make a pillow or pillowcases.

Quilting will be straight lines up and down, all around the squares. And maybe Figure 8’s inside the last border. Quilt top measures 48″ by 49″. Just large enough for a play mat or drag around quilt.

I plan to use the yellow fabric that looks like a tape measure for the binding.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The idea for this quilt had been in my head for awhile. I used 4″ squares making sure to mix up the colors and patterns plus added in a white background square where it best fit.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Borders are 2″, 2 1/2″ and 4″. I had to fussy cut the “numbers” fabric to allow for an equal amount of white space above and below the letters.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I had fun making it.

Do you like sewing with novelty fabrics? Do tell. :D


Linking to….

http://www.conniekresin.com/2013/02/giveaway-and-linky-party.html

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2013/02/lazy-zig-zag.html

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2013/02/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-productive-week.html

http://richardquilts.blogspot.com/2013/02/link-finish-friday-55.html

http://aroundtheblockdesigns.blogspot.com/2013/02/really-random-thursday-22113-end-of-era.html

16 comments on “Novelty Quilt Top Is Finished

  1. Char LaDronka says:

    Cute quilt! I have many of those same novelty fabrics and i love them all!

  2. misselletea says:

    I like the blue, it works well. Really brings out the other colours.

  3. Jenniffier says:

    Fun Quilt. I am not big novelty fabric fan, but you really pulled it together. The blue does make it pop!

  4. Betty says:

    A kindergarten teacher is out waiting for this. This would have been wonderful for my classroom.

  5. Aoife says:

    The blue works brilliantly with it! It looks really great. I love the text-numbers border fabric with the text in different colours like a child’s paint class. Where did you get it?

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Aoife, I searched through my invoices from on-line fabric purchases and didn’t see it. So I am thinking maybe I got it at my local JoAnn’s. If I happen to locate it, I will e-mail you. Thanks for the question. And thanks much for your comment about my quilt.

  6. Lennette says:

    I love it Donna!! The blue border is absolutely perfect!! You say that you don’t use a lot of novelty fabrics, but you sure did a great job of using them! I use a lot of novelty fabrics when making baby quilts or quilts for little kids, but that’s about it. I finally cut into the fabric I bought in Italy this week. I was SO nervous making that first cut. All I could think was, “this cost 58 euro’s so don’t screw it up”! LOL I didn’t screw up the cutting, but I screwed up with the pattern I chose…Double Irish Chain. It’s just a wall hanging but it’s way too busy and the beautiful Italian fabric gets lost in it. Oh well…lesson learned. I’m going back to Italy next summer so I’ll just have to buy some more fabric when I go.

  7. Mike Pearson says:

    Funny, I just finished a quilt similar to this one. I used 5 inch squares, no border. It finished about 60 x 70. I did a stipple pattern for the quilting. I had so much leftover novelty fabric I wanted to make a scrap quilt with. There was disney cars, buzz lightyear, woody, birthday prints, wizard of oz, you name it. It was fun because every scrap reminded me of another quilt and the person I made it for…. Thanks for sharing!!!!

  8. That is just amazing! I love every itty, bitty piece of it! I’ve wanted to make my 2-year-old granddaughter a little personal quilt. I’m thinking this will fill the bill! It is so bright and cheerful.

  9. Deb says:

    I love making kids quilts and collect novelty fabrics… there are so many adorable ones to choose from! Your blue border sets off that wonderful text print so well.

  10. don_mae says:

    Thanks so much for your comments on my quilt. Love all of ya!!

    I really do like it and will probably break down and make another. Sort of like the one Mike Pearson is making. I have lots of cars, trucks, super heroes, etc. Now to just find the time.

  11. Lillian Dummer says:

    Love this quilt. Wow Like I have said before you have a long way with your quilting excellent.

  12. Lauren aka Giddy99 says:

    It’s so sweet! I want to do one of these someday (adding it to The List)! :)

  13. I love this quilt and the borders are just what it needed. I love the solid blue. I don’t use novelty fabrics often but they make wonderful quilt esp for children. Great job!

  14. I love novelty fabrics for projects like this. This one is lots of fun!

  15. stipplequilt says:

    What a sweet quilt and the border is perfect! Some little child will love this! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

Leave a Reply

