Charity Pillowcases: New Year, Same Goals


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Isn’t this THE Cutest Fabric!! Got it at JoAnn’s a few days ago. I have breezed down the novelty fabric aisles so many times, that anything new jumps off the shelf and into my cart. Even the lady cutting this for me said, “this must be new.” Yep. New AND cute. And soon to be made into charity pillowcases for February. Batch 11.

But first… let me show you the twenty I made for January.

You already saw the fabric one of my quilting buddies sent me in December last year. But since I was already past my goal (160 for 2012), I took a rest break and saved her fabric for January.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Cute, aren’t they. I really love how they turned out. Thanks again, Donna S. You are a sweetheart!!

This batch, Batch 10, had fabrics I hadn’t used before. Huge butterflies and macaroons.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

These two soccer-themed pillowcases came out great. I used two FQ’s sewn together to create the band and black/white checkerboard for the body. When I can catch the FQ’s on sale for 99 cents, I stock up.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

As you all know, I made 168 charity pillowcases last year. Eight more than my 20 a month goal. (I started in May 2012.)

This year’s goal will be the same. 240 pillowcases for 2013. Twenty a month. That number has worked great for me. I sat aside a couple days and work “assembly line” style. One right after the other. I get them all to the same step and then move on to the next step. I am going to try to make one Outside The Box each month. One that is different from all the rest.

Here is a photo of all twenty.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So… that does it for me. Just wanted to show you January’s pillowcases and bring you up-to-date on my charity project.

What are you creating? Do tell.


Linking up to….

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2013/02/sock-monkeys.html

13 comments on “Charity Pillowcases: New Year, Same Goals

  1. Lennette says:

    Those fabrics are adorable! I’m working on a beaded necklace I started last week. It’s the most intricate pattern I’ve made so it takes more time than I thought it would.

    • don_mae says:

      I WANT TO SEE IT!!! Lennette, please let me see what you are making. I am excited just thinking about what design it could be. :D

      • Lennette says:

        I finally finished it today Donna and I absolutely love it! When I saw it in one of the bead books that Alli got me for Christmas, I instantly loved it but didn’t think there would be any way I could ever make it. But you have inspired me because you aren’t afraid to try anything! So I gave it a try and it’s so pretty! I’ll email you some pictures. Thank you Donna…for being my friend…for inspiring me…for getting me to finally try beading…for being an amazing woman who gives of herself to others…and for writing a blog that so many of us enjoy and find informative and entertaining. Love ya!

  2. digipicsphotography says:

    Those are cute. I’m working on some socks and a sweater.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Sharon. Great to see you!!

      You like making socks and sweaters, don’t ya. You do great at it. I never did learn to knit. Oh, well. I guess it wasn’t meant to be.

  3. Gaby says:

    Love the soccer one! (Love soccer)

  4. Linda says:

    Do you wash & dry your fabric before sewing?

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Linda, usually I don’t. Only a few times with red and burgundy fabrics did I wash before. Thanks for the question.

      • Linda says:

        Thanks for the info – just an informal poll I’m taking. I always wash & dry everything before sewing & after, even the batting because I don’t want any surprises afterwards, lol.

  5. don_mae says:

    Lennette!! Thanks so much for sending me photos of the necklace you made and the one Alli made. Breathtakingly beautiful. Both of them. You guys should go into business together.

Leave a Reply

