FQ Challenge… OK, I Can Now Show You


Made. Shipped. And Delivered.

Don’t you hate keeping secrets? I do. I have been wanting to do a Show And Tell for about a week. But couldn’t. Since what I was making needed to be shipped and delivered first.

It all started with this. This really pretty Fat Quarter.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You know how much I like signing up for stuff. Well, I signed up for a FQ Challenge in one of my quilt groups. Each person had to mail off a FQ to their swap partner and that person would make something with the FQ adding up to three additional fabrics.

Since the Friendship Braid was still fresh in my mind, that is the design I decided on with a twist. I added cornerstones. I had seen them on quilts around the net, liked them, and wanted to give it a try.

Day 1: The Auditions

I tried out numerous fabrics and color combinations. I really wanted this white to work but it stood out like a sore thumb. The solids? Nope. Bright avocado? Nope.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Still undecided. So, I let the camera decide for me.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I ended up selecting four fabrics to add to her fat quarter. Yep, one additional. For balance. I doubt the Number Police will be coming to arrest me. :D

You can see the four here. With cornerstones.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I made two short panels, sewed them down the middle, added a few borders.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

No quilting. I just could not decide on which quilting design would least mess it up. So I pieced a back, added batting and with right sides together, stitched all around the edges. I turned it inside out and hand stitched the turning opening closed.

And DONE!!

The Front.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The Back.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

My swap partner said she loves it and plans to hang it in her sewing room.

I have a few scraps of her FQ leftover and will make ME something pretty. Guess what I did with the cut off ends of the two panels? Cute, huh!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


My fabric came from Connecting Threads and JoAnn’s.


Linking up to…

http://www.conniekresin.com/2013/01/linky-party-tuesday_29.html

10 comments on “FQ Challenge… OK, I Can Now Show You

  1. Maribeth says:

    That is gorgeous!!!!!!!! I love the purple!!!!!

  2. Sonnethawk says:

    I agree with Maribeth! I love the pastel s and bright cheery colors! You did a marvelous beautiful job! I LOVE it!

  3. Donna Stark says:

    YES, I do love it!! I was the lucky one to receive it. It will be so pretty in my sewing room. I will hang it and take a picture to show you.
    Thank you again!! I will always think of you when I see it displaying on my wall.
    Hugs!

  4. Carol says:

    Gosh!! You sure know color!! Beautiful.

  5. Lennette says:

    I agree with everyone…it’s beautiful and you are much more color savvy than I am. You did an amazing job! It’s gorgeous!

  6. Marianne says:

    beautiful fabric choices. I love the finished project. And the sweet square you made using the trimming is so smart.
    I love joining fun challenges too. The problem is knowing when to stop. I found your blog thru Connie’s Link Party.

  7. That is really pretty. I made a table runner for Christmas using the friendship braid technique. It’s a lovely technique isn’t it.

  8. Caryl W says:

    Great looking quilt! AND thanks for commenting on my blog. I will check out more of your blog as I like what I see so far.

  9. Connie says:

    What a beautiful piece, I can see why she loved it! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

Leave a Reply

