Sashing Is Done… Time For The Borders


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Seems I have been working on this Green Scrappy Braid Quilt forever. And I HAVE!! For about four weeks. On and off. With a few other projects being worked on in between.

But I have good news. The sashing is finished. And I can now move on to the outside borders.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Initially, I wanted to use this green fabric. But didn’t think I had enough.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And to buy more at the price/shipping the seller was asking would have ended up being more than I wanted to spend on a scrappy quilt. Overkill. So “Babble”, the name of the fabric, went back to my stash. (And thank you, Sonnethawk, for your help in locating the color I needed. I bookmarked the site.)

I think this apple green with butterflies works just fine.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It complements all the various shades of green I used for the braids.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

For the inside borders, I decided on a black fabric with white loopy loops. It is busy. But I like it.

This quilt top will be the second largest quilt I have made to-date. (The American Heroes quilt being slightly larger.) Right now without the outside borders, it measures 82″ across and 65″ down. Borders will be 2″ on the left and right and 4″ on top and bottom. So I am thinking it will end up somewhere around 86″ by 74″.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am calling it my Scrap Buster. Except for the sashing and borders, it was made with about 95% scraps. For variety, I ended up cutting strips from a few FQ’s and my stash but mostly it was from my green scrap bag.

Remember the photo I showed you a month ago?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is what that bag looks like now. SWEET!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I will use even more scraps to make a pieced back. More braided panels. At least two. 92 strips per panel. Then I will piece together leftover scraps and see how close I can come to the measurements for the top. For sure I will need to add from my stash. The same green and black I am using for sashing and borders.

My plan is get the quilting done This Year. Not sure when but this year. I am determined NOT to go into next year with a bunch of quilt tops in need of quilting. :D

How about you? Are you working to reduce your UFO’s? Have you finished anything yet this year? Do tell…..


Go here for directions to make your own braided quilt.

http://www.quilterscache.com/B/BraidBlock.html

6 comments on “Sashing Is Done… Time For The Borders

  1. Patti says:

    I love the choices you have made for the sashing. What a great feeling to see it come together, right. I have a couple of things I HAVE to finish and then onto you machine cover. Patti

  2. sonnethawk says:

    Your work is beautiful Donna! I LOVE the green butterfly print! it is going to look gorgeous when it is done!

  3. Lennette says:

    I love love love this braided quilt! I think the sashing fabric you chose is perfect!!! My UFO projects are limited to just a couple the I need to finish the binding on. I’ve been so busy beading that I haven’t had time for quilting lately.

  4. Has it really been a month already? Wow! I love what you’ve done for the inside borders! Its looking great, Donna. :)

  5. Jude says:

    Yay, good one Donna! Looks great – sashing, borders and all.

  6. Braid quilt is on my bucket list, you did a very good job!!

Leave a Reply

