January “Block Lotto” Blocks


It’s that time again. Every other month. My quilt group runs a block lotto.

How does it work? Simple. You make however many of the featured block and that is how many chances you have to win the pot. I like to participate because I learn something new with each block.

This month’s block is called Crossroads to Jericho and finishes at 9″. Each block is made with nine 2 1/2″ squares and four half square triangles cut from 5 1/2″ squares.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is a perfect block for those fabrics you don’t have a lot of. You can use scraps too if you have a piece large enough for the HST. I used some of my 2 1/2″ squares leftover from my Hugs and Kisses quilt.

I have been working on these for a couple days. Most of that time was trying to decide which fabrics read well with black. I ended up making eleven blocks.

This one is my favorite.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here’s a few of the other blocks. I just couldn’t get any decent photos today. Crappy outside. No sun, dull and gray and my camera was acting ugly. These are the best pictures I could get.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Wouldn’t it be great to win the pot. At nine inches per block, a quilt top could be assembled fairly quickly.

And if I don’t win the pot, I can make my own blocks out of the cut squares I have leftover. Like these I cut. But did not use. I decided NOBODY but me would want a quilt with numbers. :D

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Cross your fingers and toes for me. (Some of my quilt group members read my blog. So I know they have their fingers and toes crossed too. For Themselves!!) Going to be fun to see who wins all the blocks.


Psst… No, you aren’t off the “green” hook. I have more green stuff to show you. Coming up!! :D And thanks a bunch for leaving me a comment on my braid quilt.

4 comments on “January “Block Lotto” Blocks

  1. sonnethawk says:

    I always enjoy learning new things from you! This looks simple enough! I guess the whole secret is to make sure your cuts are precise. Happy sewing!

  2. Donna Stark says:

    Love your blocks Donna. Sure hope I win. You know what I love about block swaps is b/c you get other fabric and a new look that you didn’t create. You do such awesome work.
    The other Donna

  3. Gaby says:

    Exitos!!! :)

  4. Carol says:

    Great blocks, Donna. I have a fav, but won’t say which one. Good luck on winning the pot!!
    xx, Carol

Leave a Reply

