Wishing You A Happy New Year From Me and Scrap Buddy


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Happy New Year to all of YOU from me and my newest creation, Scrap Buddy!!

All of last year, I hope I kept you entertained with my projects, mainly quilting. It was my second year learning to quilt and there is still so much more to learn.

But my plan for 2013 includes a few of my other crafts. Like macrame. Quilting will still be Number One but I will squeeze in a few macrame creations. Also crochet and beading. (I miss them.) A return to my roots, so to speak. Mix things up!! I want you to continue to make This Year’s Dozen a regular stop on your Must Read Blog List.

So.. please do come visit me. Leave a comment so I know you were here. I love reading your comments!! They make me smile and laugh. I also get great ideas and suggestions from you. But mostly you give me encouragement to keep going with my crazy projects. And for that… I THANK YOU!!

Have a blessed New Year. May it be all that you hoped for.

11 comments on “Wishing You A Happy New Year From Me and Scrap Buddy

  1. So glad to hear you will be doing some macramé. I have been looking for some modern macramé patterns and tutorials. I hope you will share with us.

  2. Donna Stark says:

    What a delightful buddy! That would put joy into any sewing or craft room. Looking forward to a new year with all your great ideas.

  3. Margaret says:

    Goody! I used to do macramé back in the day and would love to try it again. I also am learning to knit so that will be awesome too. I read every post. Can’t wait for this new year and all your craftiness.

  4. Carol says:

    Cute Buddy!
    Mine is my big dog that likes to lay in my room so I have to step over him.
    Looking forward to another year of seeing your projects.

  5. sonnethawk says:

    Happy New Year to you also!
    I LOVE your scrap buddy! How cute! I am glad to see that you mentioned that you would be doing some more macrame this year.
    I went to one of the thrift stores on Saturday. I found a pamphlet called “The Foldy Stuff” by Donna Poster. (another Donna! :<) !) I LOVE her concept to quilting squares! I LOVE the dimension! I did a Google search and watched some of her vids. Yes! I can do it! I decided to order two of her leaflets. The one is for the log cabin quilt and the other is for the Pineapple. I absolutely LOVE the pineapple one! I had trouble ordering from her web site, so I called her. She posted that it was o.k. to do so. When I called, she was very nice. She said her husband ( Mrs. Donna) would have to get back with me because it had something to do with the computer program, or something. He called me back a few hours later, and helped me to get the leaflet ordered.
    The directions comer with a template that you transfer to a piece of muslin. You then cut out your strips of fabric and sew them on – lickety split! So now, I am waiting for the leaflets to come!
    I haven't finished my pot holder yet. I wanted to get the other quilted project started, that I wanted to work on. I am crocheting on my afghan as well.
    I found so9me bias tape makers on sale and decided to order a few of them, since I will probably be making a lot of bias tape binding for my projects.
    I wanted to mention one more thing. On the green fabric that you are using for the long braided quilt strips, I thought some more about this. I agree with the other lady on the comments, that the fabric would be better for the back of the quilt. My reasoning would be, that if you have a neutral binding on the edges, such as you had first started, then the designs in the quilt strip itself, would be more noticeable. I felt that if you used the "busy" fabric for the edging, that it would compete ( if this is the right word for it) with the rest of the designs in the strip. Sometimes, it is kind of hard for me to put my thoughts in correct word form. I hope that this makes my other comment a little clearer!
    'Looking forward to much new creativity and sharing in the new year!

  6. farmquilter says:

    I love seeing what your creative mind will come up with next – like the Scrap Buddy!!! Have a blessed new year!!

  7. Lynne says:

    Scrap buddy is adorable. . . You could be starting a new trend. It reminds me of the sock monkey, which got started on Carol Duval’s show. A very Happy and Productive New Year! Love your projects and the speed that you complete them. It spurs me on.

  8. Jude says:

    Happy New Year, Donna.
    Hope it will be a good one …lots and lots of quilting, beading, macrame, blogging, learning new stuff, and staying in touch with old friends. :)

  9. Betty says:

    Donna. have a Happy New Year!!!

  10. Jyothy Varun says:

    Happy New Year to you and your family members. You are very creative. I love all your projects. Thanks for sharing.

  11. Lennette says:

    Happy New Year my dear friend!!! I can’t tell you how much I look forward to reading your blog!!! You have inspired me so many times to step out of my comfort zone and try new things. It’s funny…you’re hooked on quilting now and you got me hooked on beading after doing nothing but quilting for so many years! We kind of switched places! :) I look forward to seeing all of your wonderful creations, like your adorable Scrap Buddy!

Leave a Reply

