New Sewing Machine Cover, The “Alice”


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have just about exhausted all of my black and white selvages. I still have lots of black and white strips left. Just not as many with “words”, the stuff that makes selvages so fun to work with.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So far, I made a sewing machine cover. A little zippered clutch bag. And the front to what I think will be a pillow. Or maybe a small table runner.

All of the strips were first sewn to pre-quilted fabric.

I made the sewing machine cover first. I had an idea to use a strip of this sewing machine fabric I showed you several days ago.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It went together quickly. I spent two days working on it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It is reversible.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Why did I name my new sewing machine cover Alice? Because the majority of the selvage strips came from fabric designed by Alice Kennedy for Timeless Treasures. I knew I bought a lot of black and white fabrics (love them) but I hadn’t realized they were mostly from one designer.

The Log Cabin selvage block was an idea I got after fussy cutting one of the antique sewing machines. Lavender.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And I had the perfect lavender fabric to use. Some leftover from the sewing machine cover. I got the fabric from Connecting Threads. Sweetgrass Prairie. On sale. It was in one of the four FQ bundles I bought. I will be pulling pieces from those bundles for months. Years.

For the little clutch, I tried something different.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

No inside lining. Since the selvage strips were sewn to pre-quilted black fabric, I let that be the lining. I decided to do French side seams. :( I knew I would have to use my walking foot due to the bulk but I wasn’t expecting the needle to jam and stall. Twice!! But I managed to finish it up without any damage to my Janome. Whew!!

What will I make next? Probably more sewing machine covers. I enjoy making them and have lots more ideas for more using different blocks I have wanted to try. They satisfy my need to sew and quilt “something.” Not too tiny. But not huge either. A day or two at the most and I have a completed item. And more zippered bags. I have an idea for one using my selvage “dots.”

OK. Enough about me. What did you finish up this week? Do tell.


Linking up to..

http://www.sew-much-ado.com/2012/12/we-did-it-wednesday.html

http://aroundtheblockdesigns.blogspot.com/2012/12/really-random-thursday-12612.html

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2012/12/finish-it-up-friday-12712.html

http://richardquilts.blogspot.com/2012/12/link-finish-friday-44.html

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/12/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-im-so-blessed.html

8 comments on “New Sewing Machine Cover, The “Alice”

  1. Love all these projects. So cute and so clever!
    I’m wrapping up a huge pile of hurry-up-Christmas-projects so they can get into the mail.

  2. Sonnethawk says:

    The sewing machine cover is a clever idea! I LOVE that it is reversible!

  3. Terry says:

    What pretty projects…love each and every one of them!! Thanks for sharing :o)

  4. LisaD says:

    Great covers! I just finished my first quilt block wall-hanging, choosing the Storm at Sea pattern. I used 4 different color batiks, two light, two dark, which I just love. I framed it with one of the lighter colors and bound it using one of the dark colors. I am very please at how it came out and I know that my forty-year-old son will love it!
    Thanks for all your blogs on quilting. I know I absorbed quite a bit from them!

    LisaD in upstate NY

  5. Lillian Dummer says:

    Love the machine cover wonderful job.

  6. I just love these! that little lavender sewing machine is so cute. And I especially like the zippered pouch!

  7. Sarah C. says:

    Whoop whoop on awesome selvage projects!!

Leave a Reply

