Selvage Sewing Machine Cover


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Well, LOOK AT THAT!!

My new Selvage Sewing Machine Cover.

When I chopped off this section, I knew exactly what I would make. I wanted to use mostly browns, rust and beiges. That’s why I had to cut into the selvage piece I made last week.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

These are the fabrics I used in addition to the selvages. Brown with large white dots for the back. Brown dotted swiss and an orange FQ.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Quilting was double straight lines two inches apart.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I used this Hera Marker from Clover.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It works fantastic for marking straight lines without actually marking up the fabric. I worked ahead and marked up to three lines. I love it!! And plan to use it every chance I get.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You can see the lines I made (faintly) here in this photo.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

After finishing the quilting, I decided to add a pocket. I hated covering up the selvages (after all that work) but I really wanted a pocket in the front. I remembered I had this fabric with sewing machines in my stash.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And made my pocket.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Next, I made the side ties from the brown polka dot fabric and sewed on the top this ribbon that looks like a tape measure.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

If you have never tried the SnapSetter, then run out and buy one now. It is so easy to use. I borrowed hubby’s old hammer. He doesn’t mind me using his tools as long as they look old and decrepit like this. :D

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is one of the snaps on the sewing machine cover.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Whew!! Now that I have shown you how I made it, let me show you how I will use it. It won’t just be a blanket for my beloved Memory Craft Janome.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Many uses are planned for this baby.

It will also be a mat/thread catcher under my sewing machine.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

A table runner.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And lastly, a wall hanging when the sewing machine is in use.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You can see the hanging tabs here on the back.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So… that’s another of my selvage projects. Plus I finished two more Christmas tree mug rugs. Just need to take photos. And I have to show you my latest 20 charity pillow cases.

What crafting are you doing? Do tell.


Linking to…

http://www.conniekresin.com/2012/12/linky-party-tuesday.html

http://bowdabrablog.com/2012/12/01/saturday-showcase-craft-project-linky-9/

http://aroundtheblockdesigns.blogspot.com/2012/11/really-random-thursday-112912.html

http://www.sew-much-ado.com/2012/11/we-did-it-wednesday_27.html

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2012/11/finish-it-up-friday-113012.html

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/11/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-its-little-things.html

http://richardquilts.blogspot.com/2012/11/link-finish-friday-43.html

12 comments on “Selvage Sewing Machine Cover

  1. Lennette says:

    Another beautifully creative project you made! if I had just half of your energy, creativity and ability, I’d be a happy crafter!!!

  2. Deb says:

    Clever, functional AND beautiful! Great job!! And, thanks for reminding me that I have one of those Hera markers hiding somewhere… such a great tool.

  3. tubakk says:

    So fantastic. You have now inspired me to make a cover like this for my own sewing machine. Thank you!

  4. Shan says:

    That is totally COOL!!! I’ll bet you could sell a bunch of those if you wanted to! ;-)

  5. Gaby says:

    Lovely! :)

  6. Susie @Bowdabra says:

    Thank you so much for stopping in and sharing your cool sewing project in our Crafty Showcase http://bowdabrablog.com/2012/12/01/saturday-showcase-craft-project-linky-9/ this week! We love seeing what you have been up to and visiting your blog.

    Have a wonderful week!

    Susie @Bowdabra

  7. Lynette says:

    Hmmm. . . OK, OK. . . I guess I need to cave and pick up a hera marker to try out. :D Cool selvage cover!

  8. I LOVE that you linked because this sewing machine cover is the BEST! super versatile. Cool fabric for the pocket.

  9. Lesley says:

    Fantastic project with so many uses! Yay you!

  10. Connie says:

    What a great way to use your selvage pieces and I can’t believe the neat ways you can use it! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  11. Lorna D in KZN says:

    WOW, now definitely no throwing away of my selvage edges. What a wonderful tip.

Leave a Reply

