Making A Selvage Pincushion… Cathedral Window Style


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You know I had to try it, didn’t ya? I already made two of these babies.

Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com

So when I was thinking I should make a selvage pincushion, the Cathedral Window design came to mind.

There is a fantastic tutorial at Riley Blake Designs. http://www.rileyblakedesigns.com/cutting-corners/2012/02/17/cathedral-window-pincushion/ Easy to follow with great photos. It is what I used. I only deviated from the instructions near the end.

OK, want to see how I made mine? I won’t bore you by repeating EVERYTHING that the above tutorial already told you. So I will mostly show you mine via photos with an added note thrown in here and there.


Ready….

Select a few of your Selvage Strips.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You will need about 10-11 of them. (I sewed over the actual fabric.) Sew strips onto muslin. Cut a 4 1/2″ square.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Now select the fabric for the “peel back.”

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Add your Windows.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Peel back. (If you want a slender tip, come in some at the bottom. A wider mouth will give you a more rounded look.)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The BACK.

Select the fabric for the back of your pincushion.  I followed along with the RileyBlakeDesign tutorial but I added an extra half inch all around.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is what I did differently. I ironed fusible fleece to the two back pieces.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I wanted the fabric to feel sturdier. Give it some weight. Plus it protects the ground walnut shells I put inside instead of polyester filling.

Next, sew front to back.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Sew on button or embellishments NOW. Unless you want to sew through the walnut shells.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Fill or stuff with whatever you wish. And done!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


I made a second pincushion. This is how my corners looked when I did not taper enough at the tips during the peel back. It looks OK but I like the tapered look best.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am going to make another one and try to taper the ends a bit more. Make it more pointy. If you make this selvage pincushion, send me a photo and I will post it on my blog. Thanks!!


Here are the walnut shells I used. Came in a 7 lb bag. I have used half of it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Linking to…

http://richardquilts.blogspot.com/2012/11/laff-41.html

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2012/11/finish-it-up-friday-111612.html

http://www.sew-much-ado.com/2012/11/we-did-it-wednesday_13.html

http://www.conniekresin.com/2012/11/linky-party-tuesday_13.html

http://aroundtheblockdesigns.blogspot.com/2012/11/really-random-thursday-111512-before.html

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/11/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-giveaway-and.html

13 comments on “Making A Selvage Pincushion… Cathedral Window Style

  1. Gaby says:

    So cute! Lovely!

  2. Lyndsey says:

    That’s cute. I might make one like that as I have enough selvage pieces to do it. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Lennette says:

    I love it! So pretty!

  4. Vicki H. says:

    what a cute pincushion, very nice job, love the details and the button.

  5. Brenda says:

    Your pincushion is so cute! I love working with selvedge—I like to make zipper pouches, and have been saving up to make a knitting bag.

  6. stipplequilt says:

    Great tutorial and what a beautiful pin cushion! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  7. Becky S says:

    This may be a really unintelligent question, but why walnut shells?

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Becky, when I first started making pincushions last year, I researched what to put inside. I read several articles on using walnut shells. They keep the pins sharp (not dull or rusted) for one and they retain their shape more so than plain polyester filling. And I wanted more weight to them. Like a paperweight. Try it. Thanks for the question. And thanks for visiting my blog.

  8. Janine says:

    These are so sweet and great tute :)

  9. Dorothy Midson says:

    I might just have to make one of these….

  10. Lynette says:

    OK, *That* is really cool. :D Thanks for working up the tutorial!

  11. This is so cute! I have never done a cathedral window–it sure is cute with selvages!

Leave a Reply

