Selvage Project… 2 Years Of Collecting


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Making something using selvage strips has been on my mind for A LONG TIME. Almost two years. That is how long I have been collecting them. Slowly my collection began to build. Until my bin started to overflow.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It was time to get started. (Just what I needed, right? Another new project. :D )

Sorting through them all took several days. I separated those with color coding dots from those with just the manufacturer/designer names.

I decided to work with a 7″ width since that was about the average length of each “section” with color dots. Which meant I would be making something long. Rectangular. A table runner or wall hanging. Quilt-As-You-Go seemed the best method. So I sewed the strips to muslin.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

After two days of sewing, I ended up with 134 strips, 65 inches.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

OK… That’s long enough!! At least to get started on my First Selvage Project.

These are the fabrics I selected to go with the selvages.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Three Log Cabin borders.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

FRONT

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

BACK

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And hanging on the wall. Love it!! It will for sure become a permanent fixture on my craft room wall. A new addition to the Donna Wall.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And of course, I couldn’t make just one item. Not after sewing selvage strips for TWO WHOLE DAYS!!

I made a basket.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Table Runner and Basket

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Table runner/wall hanging measures 46 1/2″ by 18 1/4″. (75 selvage strips)

I still have quite a few strips left. Especially those with just the designer names. So look for more projects using these cute strips.

What do you do with your selvage strips? Hopefully you aren’t throwing them away. (You can send them to me. I’ll take them.)

My plan is to do a tutorial to show you how I made my set. Maybe you will join me and create your own table runner/wall hanging. Now Go. Collect up your selvage strips. :D


Linking up to…

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2012/10/finish-it-up-friday-102612.html

http://richardquilts.blogspot.com/2012/10/link-finish-friday-38.html

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/10/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-flurry-of-quilts.html

http://sewhappygeek.co.uk/index.php/2012/10/22/manic-monday-linky-party-49/

http://www.conniekresin.com/2012/10/linky-party-tuesday_23.html

http://www.sew-much-ado.com/2012/10/we-did-it-wednesday_23.html

http://bowdabrablog.com/2012/11/03/saturday-showcase-craft-project-linky-5/

25 comments on “Selvage Project… 2 Years Of Collecting

  1. LOVE!!!!!!!!!!! So creative and clever! Okay, I’m saving mine from now on!!! :)

  2. Denise says:

    OHGoodness those are sooo cute and I’m so glad you are going to do a tutorial! ADORABLE! I have been saving my selvages too but I’ve only been sewing about a year so I don’t have quite as many yet!

  3. I recovered my daughter’s dining room chairs with selvages – most were from black and white material with a few pinks thrown in (her favorite colors). I have been saving my selvages since I started quilting five years ago…I cut them 1″ in width so I get some of the pretty fabrics with them. I intend to make a quilt with them. I have seen fully upholstered chairs done with selvages and a dress!!! Really amazing what you can make with something many people throw away.

  4. Deb says:

    They look so cool! I love what you did- never ever would have thought to use those edges for anything before. :)

  5. sewfrench says:

    I’m still saving mine!
    I think most of mine have names, not dots, not sure, I’ll have to check. The names can sometimes be cleverly used, too. I’m not sure what I’m waiting on, especially when it only took 75 for your runner! I love it!!

  6. sewfrench says:

    Oh, and this is a fun blog. She shares lots of selvage projects!
    http://selvageblog.blogspot.com/

  7. Lennette says:

    Those are awesome Donna!!!!! You are the most clever person I know!!!

  8. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone. Am loving your comments. I do hope you are collecting your selvages too. They make amazing projects.

    Sewfrench, you are right about selvageblog. Karen’s work is stunning. That dress. A work of art. I have spent hours on her site drooling at her work. And her book… Amazon has a new one for $1600. Can you believe that!!! And used starting at $50. I would like to add her book to my quilting book collection but not at that price. :D

    Thanks much everyone.

  9. Crystal says:

    Wonderfully creative, Donna. Love your coordinating fabric choices too!
    And to think how long you put off beginning to quilt!!! ;-)

  10. stipplequilt says:

    What great projects Donna! I’ve started saving selvage edges but have a way to go. Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  11. don_mae says:

    Thanks Crystal and Connie!!

    Yesterday I played around with making a mason jar pincushion using the strips for the “ball” at the top. The idea was to fill the jar with selvage strips. But I ended up not liking it. Still playing around with some type pincushion using them. :D

  12. April says:

    Wow! I’m collecting my selvage strips too. I LOVE your basket!! what a great idea. And I love your Dresden plate hanging on your wall next to your selvage strip project. Dresdens are my favorite. :)

  13. Megan says:

    I love your table runner!I have been collecting my selvages for awhile, but I didn’t know what I was ever going to do with them! Now I know! Thanks for sharing this and I’ll be looking forward to the tutorial!

  14. Cathy Tomm says:

    Great runner and basket. I have been saving selvages but not done anything yet.

  15. Tina says:

    I love both the runner and the basket! The runner looks so great hanging on the wall. I never would have thought about that, but I have the perfect small wall in my kitchen to do that. I’ve been collecting selvages for a long time. I pull out a few once in a while for small projects, but I’m ready to do something bigger.

  16. Maja says:

    I have saved selvages for ages, and sometimes I´ll use them.
    Your work is fantastic!

  17. Jennie T. says:

    I never started keeping my selvedges. Your project is darling!

  18. Nancy says:

    The table runner is so fun it makes me laugh out loud! I love it. Thanks for showing close-ups of how you made it. I’ve been wondering what happens with the cut off edge. Now I see. I’ve used selvedges for ties on zippers or gift tags. I’ll have to cut them a little wider and make something with them. I especially like the 3 fabrics you used as borders. Thanks for sharing!

  19. Kokopelli says:

    How freaking cool are those two items!!!!

  20. Andrea says:

    Wow, what creativity. It has never occurred to me to keep the edges from my fabric. Thank you for sharing!

  21. Sarah C. says:

    Donna, that is so cute!! A very creative use for those selvage strips – whoop whoop!!

  22. Ana Lopes says:

    SO CUTE!!! LOVE IT!!!

  23. Linda Jernigan says:

    I’ll never throw another selvage strip away…great idea…why didn’t I think of this!

  24. Lillian Dummer says:

    You are so AWESOME.

Leave a Reply

