Recycle #9: Ralph Lauren Sheet and Pillowcases


If you have been following my blog for some time, then you know what I like to do on Wednesdays. I like to go to the Salvation Army Thrift Store. Senior Discount Day.

I was dropping off four of my beloved mother’s winter coats I was never going to use or wear. Made sense someone else could get some wear out of them as cold as it has been in my parts lately.

And of course, since I was already there, just had to run inside to quickly make my rounds. I have gotten so good at it. Unless they move the aisles or change stuff around, I can get in and scoop up what I want in about 10 minutes.

Yesterday, I only found one thing I could use. This Ralph Lauren twin sheet. For just 2.99. And with my 25% discount, only 2.24. A steal.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Not sure if that is how it is supposed to look. It looks like some of the color has washed out. But it feels great. Nice fabric. 100% cotton.

I washed it and cut it up to make my charity pillow cases. Batch 7 for my September count. I was able to get four pillowcase bodies and two tops out of that one sheet.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Counting those, so far, I have 15 pillowcases ready for French seams.

These fabrics are waiting their turn.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I need at least five more to make my 20 a month goal. That basketball fabric sure is cute. And I like those little birds and adorable cats too.

Plus I am making this band from fabric strips to go with this pretty yellow bottom. I may make a second one. I have enough strips cut.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Hopefully I get them all finished by month’s end.


And in case you are wondering… I teased you in my last post about what was on my sewing table. Here it is.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

But now you will have to guess what I am going to do with it. It is old, old old. A quilt top I made last year. You can read my post about it here.

http://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2011/04/18/quilt-top-is-finished-making-a-piano-key-border/

Didn’t really get all bubbly about it after I made it so it got folded and stored. NOW, it will have a new life as something else. So glad I remembered I made it. More details and photos coming up. :D

8 comments on “Recycle #9: Ralph Lauren Sheet and Pillowcases

  1. Carol says:

    I love that purple!!
    Great recycling of cool material.
    You are a gem!

  2. What a great find! I love them all! :)

  3. Lennette says:

    You found a great bargain!!! I can’t wait to see what you’re doing with the purple quilt top you made last year!!!

  4. sonnethawk says:

    I absolutely love the purple! The Ralph Lauren sheet is adorable!
    When you cut your fabric for quilting, do you use one of those wheels that looks like a pizza cutter to cut it? i don’t know the proper name for it. Also, I saw a spray can sitting on your other quilt top the other day. What is that stuff? is it the adhesive you were talking about? i am totally green on all of this! Thanks!
    Have you ever done any lap quilting?

    • don_mae says:

      Hi there. Yes, I use a rotary cutter for most cutting. Except for curves, for those I use really sharp scissors. The spray can was my basting spray. It holds somewhat but allows me to lift and reposition as needed. Some quilters just use basting spray. I use it plus the bent quilting pins. Once you decide to quilt, just check on line for what basic tools you will need. Never have tried lap quilting. I think you may be referring to hand quilting in a hoop or frame. Nope. Not tried that yet. Thanks for asking. (I get my rotary cutter, blades, cutting mat at JoAnn’s when they have them at half off or I use my 50% off coupons. They cost too much to pay full price if you don’t have to.)

  5. Susan says:

    Love your pillowcases! Any possibility of doing a tutorial on how you make them, including the French seam???

  6. Crystal says:

    That sheet made some wonderful pillowcases!
    Have you noticed that “vintage sheets” are in high demand by quilters, lately? I’m not surprised, though. The old cotton percale was lovely. I don’t care what thread count you buy today – nothing seems as soft as sheets we had long ago.

    You just KNOW that I remember that pretty purple quilt top! ;-)
    (Hmmm, wonder if it’s because it’s purple? ;-) lol)

Leave a Reply

