Is It Time To Throw In The Towel?


I have been working on the back to my umbrella quilt for about a week. It started off OK. Then quickly advanced from OK to bad to worse.

I liked my idea for all of five minutes. But I kept working on it. I refused to give up on my design. In all, I have probably wasted about $30 in fabric. And in time spent (think wasted) calculated at minimum wage, it adds up in the hundreds.

As you know, I wanted an umbrella for the back. One huge giant sized one. I lined up the fabric strips. Hated it!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Then I switched to a different setup. Stacked. Staggered like the umbrella. With a mirror image.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Hated it, too. Hated them all.

Time to concede. Time to say OUT LOUD. This IS NOT working.

OK. Back to the drawing board. I guess I will have to do what I didn’t want to do. Make a trip to JoAnn’s to buy more purple fabric. I was trying to make do. It’s $13 a yard.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And I will need about 3 yards. :(

I was hoping to count this quilt as a July finish. Not going to happen. I will sit tight until I receive a 50% off coupon in the mail.

So pretty. Don’t want to spoil it with an ugly back.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

What do you do when you make a quilt back that you are not happy with? Do you continue with it anyway? Do you make a second back?

9 comments on “Is It Time To Throw In The Towel?

  1. abbie2001 says:

    I would wait and make what would make me happy with the whole project and proud to show everyone. The front is so pretty! I love Purple!

  2. Lennette says:

    Sometimes an idea just doesn’t work and I have found that if I have an idea and I can’t get it to work, it’s best for me just to leave that idea for another time because the more I fidget with it, the more aggravated I become, which makes me hate the project. Since you have a lot of purple fabrics, how about making a patchwork backing with them?

  3. Carol says:

    Well, just ok is not good enough if you aren’t happy.
    $13 even with a 40% off coupon?
    I love that purple.

    Step away from it and think about something else for a bit.
    xx, Carol

  4. Kokopelli says:

    Gladly it didn’t happen to me so far. I only made some smaller projects and two denim quilts which only had a back with one single piece of fabric. So no chance to do something “wrong”. I think you should set it aside and wait for a while so you can finish this with a back you like. It’s worth it!

  5. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone. You are all right. I did need to step away and come back with fresh eyes.

    I slept on it and think I have figured out something different for the back without spending any extra money. At least it is worth a try. If it doesn’t work, then I will buy more purple.

    Thanks for your encouragement and suggestions. So much….

  6. Betty Lou says:

    Sometimes what is in my head just doesn’t translate to fabric. Best to go with the expensive fabric and know that you will be happy with it. One thing about Joann’s—-there is always a new coupon to use.

  7. Crystal says:

    Hi Donna,
    I know you wanted the back to be as spectacular as the front….
    Oh, the things we put ourselves through sometimes with our “art”!

    When one part is great, we want to make *every* part great.

    But when you stop and think about it – nobody can see both sides at the same time. The front is beyond gorgeous! I’d let the back be a simple patchwork. Honestly, I don’t think many people would even think about looking at the back once they caught sight of that beautiful front! xo :-D

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Crystal.. Thank you!!

      I think I have a better way of making the back. It will be simple and not overwhelm the front. Just blend in.

      I really do love it. I think it is the prettiest of all the quilts I have made. And I have an idea for the rest of the umbrella blocks. My green ones plus all those I won in my quilt group’s Block Lotto. Working on a design for them.

      Thanks for stopping by. :D

  8. Loving the purple! It’s my fav!

Leave a Reply

