Umbrella Quilt Top Is Finished… Yay!!


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I finished my umbrella quilt top last night. I think I made the left and right side borders too wide so I am going to cut them down from 8″ to 4 1/2″. Right now quilt top measures 86″ by 62″.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I didn’t want the rick-rack to curl when washed so I hand stitched the edges down. This took forever.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I was watching Flashpoint Season 2 on DVD. I went through four episodes. I HATE hand sewing!!

There is still more work to be done. The back to make. Not sure what I want. I would LOVE to make one or two huge umbrella blocks but do not think I have enough purple prints to pull it off.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

One other idea I have swirling around in my brain is to do really wide strips of the dark purple with the purple fabrics I have left. What to do??

And the binding. At first I didn’t think these would work. These three batik Fat Quarters. I want a scrappy look so I am seriously thinking about using them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I like my binding to be 3-3 1/2″ wide so if I cut 3″ strips, I can get seven from each FQ. Don’t think I will need that many. I’ll do a test run all around the quilt first before cutting. I could even use the batik leftovers for the back.

I am dying to start a new project… but I will keep plugging away at this until it is completely finished. Or at least until all the sewing is done. Then I will think about how to quilt it. I am thinking echo around the umbrella strips, straight lines in the sashing and stippling in the borders.

Got lots of new fabric, new books and a new ruler to show you. Later on. :D


Linking to…

http://sewhappygeek.co.uk/index.php/2012/07/23/manic-monday-linky-party-44/

http://www.craft-o-maniac.com/2012/07/party-time-craftomaniac-monday.html

14 comments on “Umbrella Quilt Top Is Finished… Yay!!

  1. Lennette says:

    It’s beautiful Donna!!!

  2. Betty Lou says:

    Great quilt, bring on the rain.

  3. Deb says:

    Love it! I’m with you on hating hand sewing- Bf never fails to rip his clothes in ways that cannot be mended by machine, so at least once a month, I’m stitching something up by hand. Luckily for me, most of the repairs are quick- under ten minutes.

  4. picperfic says:

    wow that’s so lovely, and a lot of hard work too!

  5. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone, thanks so much for stopping by to comment on my quilt. Love you all!!

    It is raining here today. Perfect sewing day. (But then, everyday is perfect for sewing. :D )

    Going to work on the back today. Somehow will figure out how to blend what’s left of the purple prints with the darker purple. Wish me luck!!

  6. Fran says:

    Donna I love your umbrella quilt. Beautiful.

  7. Belinda says:

    That is a beautiful quilt, Donna! Of course, everything you make is beautiful. :)

    Unlike you, I love hand sewing! To me, it is very relaxing.

  8. don_mae says:

    Hi Fran, Hi Belinda. Thanks so much. I worked on the back yesterday. But do not like it. Not enough dark purple prints to make it interesting. Going to JoAnn’s today to see if I can find more of the purple polka dots. I am completely out of it.

  9. Carol says:

    Your work is so beautiful and you work so quickly!!

  10. MC says:

    Great little umbrella blocks, this design is so much fun!

  11. kendascrafts says:

    cute idea! i like the purple

  12. pippa says:

    oh that’s beautiful, lets hope we dont need umbrella’s anytime soon :)

  13. don_mae says:

    Hi MC, kenda and pippa.

    Thanks so much for commenting on my umbrella quilt. Hopefully I will get the back made and get it quilted. I am excited to see how it will look finished.

Leave a Reply

