Soldier’s Quilt Top Is Finished And 2 New Umbrella Blocks


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I finished my Disappearing 9 Patch (D9P) quilt top two days ago but couldn’t get any decent photos on the inside. It was too large for my design wall. And I didn’t like any of the other photos I took in different places around the house. So I decided to take the photos outside yesterday. And wouldn’t you know it. The sun stayed behind the clouds most of the day. These are the best I could get.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

To-date this is the largest quilt top I have ever made. It measures 73 1/2″ by 91″.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

After it is quilted, it will be given to one of our wounded soldiers. Distributed by the American Hero Quilts program. Per their website, quilt top minimum measurements were 63″ by 87. So I hope it is OK that mine is a bit over.

I have really enjoyed working on this project and will be making a second quilt top. Squares are cut. Now I need to decide on a design. Something different. I have a couple patterns in mind. I will work on this next one in between other projects. So it will take longer. But that’s OK. There is always a need.

Go here if you are interested in volunteering your time and talent.

http://www.americanheroquilts.com/


Good news!! I made progress on my Umbrella Blocks Quilt.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

There are now six umbrella blocks. I made two more. Originally I was thinking a wall hanging. I guess it could still go on the wall. It isn’t THAT big. I figure after adding the sashing and border, it will measure around 75″ by 60″.

You know how sometimes you work on something off and on, seems forever!! And then the “dislike” starts to creep in. Well, I am still loving this one.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Even with all the sewing of those little 1 1/2″ squares for the scrappy border.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am getting better at making sure the seams are even. Makes for an easy trim when the edges line up. At first I wasn’t sure if I was sewing a perfect 1/4″ seam. So when Fran in my Quilt Group posted a link to a test, I thought, HEY, let’s do it. Now I can make sure. I followed the directions, measured and IT WAS PERFECT!! If I say so myself, I have come a long way since first learning to quilt in January 2011.

Want to know if you are sewing perfect 1/4″ seams? Test yourself. Go here. Thanks, Fran!!

http://www.freequiltpatterns.info/video—the-perfect-seam-allowance.htm


This is what I am working on today. Something quick and easy.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Need to get it finished and mailed off today. I can only show you the fabric since the person it is for reads my blog. But I will show you the finished item after she receives it. Sometime this week.

Hope you have a great week. Do something fun… Tell me what your crafty plans are for this week.

4 comments on “Soldier’s Quilt Top Is Finished And 2 New Umbrella Blocks

  1. Janine says:

    Your quilt looks great!

  2. Lennette says:

    I love both what you’ve done with both of the quilts Donna!! They look amazing!!!! I also love the your fabric choices with the white, red and green fabrics!!! They look great together!!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Lennette!! How are you!! Thanks much. I can thank you for getting me started.

      I finished the “secret” project. Just need to take pictures and then get it mailed. Can’t wait to post photos on my blog. :D

Leave a Reply

