Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt And The “Stripes” Ruler


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

OK, time for an update on the quilt top I am making for American Hero Quilts. The quilt needs to measure 63″ by 87″ and currently I am at 27″ height and 65″ width. So, I still have a ways to go.

Colors are red, white and blue with stars, stripes and dots. And some solids. The quilt block I am using is called D9P. Disappearing 9 Patch.

You start off with nine squares.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Mine are 4″ squares. You sew them together three to each row. And then cut down the center, rotate and cut down the center again. Producing four blocks.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

That’s the basic way to create these D9P blocks. And then you rearrange them however it pleases you.

My design, as you can see in this next photo, has one striped fabric at top left and a different striped fabric at the bottom right.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I had a rough start. I kept sewing the stripes in the wrong direction. My seam ripper got a good workout.

To prevent more of the same, I created an aid out of cardboard. The Stripes Ruler.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Before sewing the blocks together, lay the Stripes Ruler down on top of the striped fabric confirming directionality. This one step saved me hours of redo work. And thread. It works great!! You can see how it works in these next photos.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This one would have needed the seam ripper. Had I not caught it before sewing.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

After solving the “redo” problem, I moved faster getting the blocks sewn and sashing added.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I figured I need at least six strips of blocks to reach 87″ height. Crosswise, with six blocks and sashing, measures 64″. So, I am about a third finished. The balance of the sewing should go faster… Now that my mistakes are behind me.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Stay tuned. More photos coming up. Thanks for stopping by. :D


You can read more about my project here….

http://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2012/07/06/sewing-one-for-the-men-and-women-our-soldiers/


Linking to…

http://conniekresin.blogspot.com/2012/07/linky-party-tuesday-21.html

http://sewhappygeek.co.uk/index.php/2012/07/09/manic-monday-linky-party-42/

12 comments on “Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt And The “Stripes” Ruler

  1. Kokopelli says:

    Wow, great pics! Seems so easy to do. And great idea with the ruler.

  2. Betty Lou says:

    Have to love that Disappearing Nine Patch—-my favorite go-to pattern. Your looks great, I like how you have broken it up into separate blocks. I have made two quilts for Quilts of Valor but had not heard of American Hero Quilts. Who do you give your pillowcases to? I used to make them for Pillows of Love..

  3. Carol says:

    I love the disappearing 9s. I will definitely make one and have a tut from the pattern when I first saw it. Yours is so pretty. I love the fabric choices.
    xx, Carol

  4. Deb says:

    Wow! So simple to get the blocks! It looks pretty darned cool. :)

  5. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone. One more strip of six blocks finished. At least two to go. I really like how it is turning out. It is such an easy block. Thanks much for stopping by.

    Betty Lou, I will leave a separate comment to answer your question.

  6. It’s looking great! I love patriotic quilts, and I’ve been meaning to make some. And, Disappearing Nine Patch is a favorite of mine!

  7. Jeanne says:

    I love the DNP pattern, too. Your patriotic DNP is wonderful! Nice work.

  8. don_mae says:

    Thank you, Susie. Thanks much, Jeanne.

    I am working on the 5th row. I hope to have the quilt top finished later tonight or tomorrow morning.

  9. CeLynn says:

    Handy little tool you made there! Love how your quilt is turning out :)

  10. Ronda says:

    Looking good girlfriend! :)

  11. stipplequilt says:

    D9P’s are always fun to make, your quilt looks wonderful! Thanks for sharing.
    Quilting at the River Linky Party Tuesday

Leave a Reply

