Sewing One For The Men And Women, Our Soldiers


This is what I worked on yesterday. I took a rest break from my umbrella blocks.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am making a quilt for the men and women who keep us safe. Our Soldiers. Our Troops. Our Heroes.

Actually I am just making a quilt top since there are so many wonderful women (and probably men too) out there in the Quilting Community who will do the quilting. They, so generously, have volunteered their time and skills to this project.

I had been reading the heartwarming stories from the families and the soldiers themselves about the beautiful quilts they had received. I thought about how I could contribute. I have fabric. I have the time. I even have a tiny bit of quilting skills under my belt. So when Nancy, in my Quilt Group, told us about the need for patriotic blocks and quilt tops, I went from “reading about it” to doing it.

I have the easy part. Cutting, sewing, designing.

More details and photos coming up so you can see what I am making.


Click on the links below to read about the quilts for soldiers projects. Do a Google search. You may find a quilt group in your area volunteering their time and resources. They need all the help they can get. Do consider joining in.

http://www.americanheroquilts.com/

http://www.qovf.org/

http://www.aquiltnhand.com/quilts_for_soldiers.htm

http://www.quiltweb.com/yellow/deployed.htm

7 comments on “Sewing One For The Men And Women, Our Soldiers

  1. Sharon Buford says:

    From a former military member – THANK YOU for supporting our troops.

  2. don_mae says:

    OMG!! I am so glad you posted your comment. What was I thinking!! I just corrected my post to read Men AND Women. Thank YOU!!

  3. Carol says:

    My brother died while living in a dorm at the VA hospital in Marion Indiana. I have always supported the vets there and have always thought that when I retire, I’ll have more time to sew for them too. You never can do enough, but even a small gesture is appreciated. Too bad more people don’t get actively involved.

    Your blocks are beautiful.
    xx, CArol

  4. Leo says:

    It’s nice to see the support for the troops in the US … here it’s rather hard to get people to support them – most don’t seem to understand the difference between supporting the troops and supporting a war.
    Keep up the good work!

  5. don_mae says:

    Thank you, Carol. Thanks much, Leo.

    Volunteering either time and supplies or actually doing it in person is something I have thought a lot about. Like soup kitchens or mentoring. I was heavily involved in Community Service when I was working. Now that I am retired I should be able to do more.

  6. Crystal says:

    Beautiful design, beautiful cause, and beautiful YOU… for doing it. :-D

    • don_mae says:

      :D

      How sweet!! Thank you, thank you. I am just about finished. If I didn’t have so many other UFO’s lined up to work on, I would make another one just like this one.

Leave a Reply

