I Worked On My Umbrella Blocks Today


Remember these? I made a few. Actually I made six. 4 purple and 2 green.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And won a few for Block Lotto from my quilt group. Back in April.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This layout has been up on my design wall for two months. My four purple ones.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I wanted to work on this project in May. It was on my MAY Small Projects To-Do List and really felt bad that I didn’t get to it. And then in June, it still never made it to the top of the list. So… I decided the first thing I worked on in July would be my umbrella blocks.

The layout has changed slightly. I am using dark purple “sooner” for one of the borders.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The little 1 1/2″ squares were already cut. They originally were going to be used for doll quilts but I ran out of doll steam.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The colors were perfect for the purple umbrella blocks, so it didn’t make sense not to use them. The little squares at the end of the rows kind of got chopped off but I wasn’t going to recut them to make them uniform across the row. Just made them work. As is. Chopped off. :D

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The purple and white diagonal lines fabric were Fat Quarters. Only had four of them so probably four umbrella blocks will be as large as I can make this quilt, maybe six. I will have to see how far I can stretch it. I checked JoAnn’s today to see if they still had the FQ’s. Nope. All gone.

This is the size of the block for now. 19 1/2″ by 21 1/2″.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have two blocks finished and am working on the 3rd.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I’ll get a photo of them up on my design wall once I get the 4th one finished. Then I will decide if I want more borders. :D

Once these four have been quilted, I will work on putting the other umbrella blocks into a quilt. I have a few ideas. We shall see…

15 comments on “I Worked On My Umbrella Blocks Today

  1. Jude says:

    Love them! Good one, Donna! :)

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Jude, thanks much. I love them too. I finished the 3rd block last night. So excited. Can’t wait to see them all up on the design wall.

  2. Linda B. says:

    OH I so wanted to win these!! I love how you are putting them together..maybe if you have an odd one it could become a pillow or a center for a table topper…good job!!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Linda. Thanks!!

      I think we all wanted to win them. So glad I did. :D

      I was thinking the same as you. Pillow or table mat for any extras.

  3. Kokopelli says:

    Those are so cute, Donna! Is the umbrella handle made with ribbon. It looks like a zigzag ribbon I have at home.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Dagi, thanks so much. I am loving working with them. The handle is just rick-rack. I sewed mine down by machine but noticed everyone else hand stitched theirs. So I researched how to tack rick-rack and found I should have handstitched them. :D (I will probably do back over the edges by hand so the rick-rack doesn’t curl in the wash.)

  4. I LOVE this design!!! :)

  5. Lennette says:

    I love them Donna!!! I love the borders that you’ve added to them and how you’re placing them!!!

  6. cliodana says:

    this is beautiful, love the umbrella! wonderful idea

  7. don_mae says:

    Thank you so much, everyone. Now I plan to make two more blocks. I dug out my purple scraps last night. If anyone would like the umbrella block pattern, let me know. I will send it via e-mail.

  8. Cammy says:

    Hi Donna, I would love to have this umbrella block pattern too. Sooo cute!

  9. Sherri Viljoen says:

    This is really cute! I am trying to do a block of the month with my sister-in-law who is new at quilting but very crafty. So do you have the pattern for the umbrella part? I think I have the math down for the most part, but if I could just figure out the corner of the top of the umbrella it would be great. Would be willing to share this pattern. I would love to share some of my in the future.

  10. Sherri says:

    I was asking if you would share this pattern, I left out a few words.

Leave a Reply

