Quilting Done.. My Machine Felted Work Of Art


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I like how this turned out.

My first machine felted work of art. I kind of felt like I was a painter. Beginning with a solid piece of dark wine wool felt. And adding roving, yarn, ribbon wherever I wanted to place it. The felt leaves were added afterwards. They kind of flop. But that is the look I wanted. It is kind of messy looking on the right, but hey, it’s my first. :)

I quilted it with 3-D in mind. Going around and around the petals and centers of the petals. And outlined around the flowers. Then I stippled the borders.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I was undecided on what fabric to use for the binding. Then remembered this fabric with trees that I just bought. I was saving it for something else but guess I can buy more if I need too.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is how the back looks. I used the blue linen, same as the borders. You can see the quilting better from the back. It measures 26″ by 28″. Perfect as a wall hanging.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have tons of ideas swirling around in my head. One, I want to start on right away. But need to make a trip to the fabric store. I need ivory or cream wool felt for the background. Probably will go tomorrow. And then I need to go to the Janome place. I broke two of the felting needles. :(

I hope I get better at it as I go. Practice, practice.


Linking to…

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/06/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-ive-got-my-work.html

3 comments on “Quilting Done.. My Machine Felted Work Of Art

  1. Lennette says:

    I love it Donna!!!! I am constantly amazed at how you get an idea, work it out and then make a beautiful item!!!

  2. Shan (Chief) says:

    I love it too!! The colors are really great!

  3. don_mae says:

    Hi Lennette!! Hi Shan!!

    Thank you both.

    I am having fun. Wish I had cracked open that manual sooner. I guess I thought machine felting would be hard. :D

Leave a Reply

