Felted Handbag… Mom Would Be Proud


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

All done. My last finish for June.

My mother’s old black wool coat is now my new felted handbag.

From this…

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

To this…

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

She is probably looking down on me now, smiling… and hopefully saying Job Well Done. :D


You can read more about this project here.

http://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2012/06/29/recycle-9-from-wool-coat-to-felted-handbag/


Linking to…

http://conniekresin.blogspot.com/2012/07/linky-party-tuesday.html

http://sewhappygeek.co.uk/index.php/2012/07/02/manic-monday-linky-party-41/

12 comments on “Felted Handbag… Mom Would Be Proud

  1. Margaret says:

    Cute bag and as always Job Well Done, by the way Love my Pink Macrame tote, gonna give it to my granddaughter for her birthday. Thanks!

    • don_mae says:

      So glad you love your macrame little purse, Margaret. Hope your GD loves it too. (My mom’s name was Margaret.) :D

  2. Lennette says:

    I love it Donna!!!! How wonderful that you can carry a piece of your mom with you every time you use that gorgeous bag!!!!

  3. Jay says:

    Gorgeous bag, well done you!

  4. Deb says:

    This turned out so well! I admit I had my doubts on this one, and was like OMG! She cut up that lovely coat?!? but this turned out so nice! Love it!

  5. don_mae says:

    Thank you, everyone, for your wonderful comments. I have been staring at my handbag for a day now. Rolling the lint remover sticky over it as soon as I see a speck of lint. :D

    I did have pause before I cut into it. I just closed my eyes and did it. Now I have to close my eyes once more… when I cut into the burgundy one. I am thinking of doing a reversible handbag. Black on one side and burgundy on the other.

    Thank you again for leaving me a comment.

  6. Crystal says:

    I’m sure she IS smiling, Donna, and probably saying to her friends: “Look how clever my girl is!” :-)

    You’ll have fun carrying this! Love the lining, too.

    When I was a kid my grandmother used to make coats for me from her old wool coats. She’d cut out the best parts and then reverse them – as the other side of the wool still looked almost new.

    • don_mae says:

      Hey Crystal!! Thanks so much. That is exactly what I did. Same as your grandmother. The underside looked fresh compared to the top. When it cools off, I plan to work on more felted projects.

  7. Deb says:

    Just to let you know… I am starting a new cotton scrap bag for you. :) Not sure how long it’ll take me to fill it, but eventually you’ll have some more odds and ends of fabric coming your way!

  8. Connie says:

    How beautiful and what precious memories you will have each time you look at it! Thanks for sharing.
    Quilting at the River Linky Party Tuesday

Leave a Reply

