Machine Felting: Petals And Leaves At Play…


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Introducing my Janome Xpression Felting Machine. Oh, you have seen it before. Several times. But this time you get a bonus. You get to see what I MADE with it!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It has been so long that I don’t even remember when I bought it. I am thinking about five years ago. Worth every penny I paid.

I finally cracked open the manual. Read the few pages of instruction. Mostly the manual told me about the tools that came with the Felting Machine. I didn’t see them the two times I took the machine out of the box to photograph it. Ah. Inside the removable arm thingy. 5 needle cartridge, a single needle cartridge, 3 extra needles, two screwdrivers and a cleaning brush. Plus a one hole felting plate. All there. Thank goodness!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Even a DVD came with it. I watched it twice and got started.

Machine felting is so easy. A baby could do it. Within less than a minute I was going at top speed. It is all done by pushing whatever I pile on top down into the fabric on the bottom. Preferably wool felt, denim, something sturdy as the base fabric.

I made this first.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is the back. Even pretty and usable from this side. I think I will make it into a necklace.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It was too easy. So I decided I had enough practice. And started on a larger piece. No clue where I was going with it. I was thinking, clean slate, just start laying pieces.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I had plenty to chose from. Felt from my macrame projects.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Yarn from my stash.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

These came from Salvation Army’s Thrift Store. 25 cents each. What a deal steal!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And roving. Which I bought a couple years ago.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Immediately after starting and taking the first photograph, I knew I should have selected a different base color. Oh well. I tried to brighten it up by adding white and bright colors.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I just kept adding stuff.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

See my leaves. They are just halfway pushed into the felt. I gave them a tug to see if they would pull out. Nope. They are in there tight.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

For border #1 I used avocado wool felt. For border #2, I used this linen/linen look fabric I got from Salvation Army’s Thrift shop.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Now I have to decide how to finish off the back.

I am sorry it took me so long to try machine felting. My lost. Just think what I could have accomplished by now. Clean up is a breeze. Open the trap door. Remove the lint collected.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have loads of ideas. Embellished fronts for handbags. More wall hangings. Baskets. And somehow I will incorporate felting into my quilting.

I guess I won’t be needing this.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

LOL!! No since mailing this off now. Janome has since switched out this model for something else. It is a good thing, too, that it works just as it is supposed to. :D


Guess what? Another project comes off the MAY To-Do list. (I will keep plugging along until they are all finished.)


Linking to…

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/06/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-ive-got-my-work.html

4 comments on “Machine Felting: Petals And Leaves At Play…

  1. picperfic says:

    I didn’t know Janome made such a thing…not looking…lol!! I have too many hobbies, I needle felt by hand, with a clover tool, your machine would make short work of that!

  2. Lennette says:

    Very cool Donna!!!! Another way for you to express your creativity!!!

  3. Sarah C. says:

    What a neat idea _ I didn’t know they made machines for felting! Keep up the good work. Whoop whoop!

  4. don_mae says:

    Hi Picperfic, Lennette and Sarah C. Thanks much for your comments. Really appreciate you stopping by.

    I am having fun with machine felting. Once it gets cooler I have plans to do a whole lot more. I have TONS of ideas. And I have been thinking about my macrame cord and whether or not I can use it to felt. Going to give it a go. :D

Leave a Reply

