FNSI: My New Clutch… Cats, The Musical


Handmade by Heidi

I joined in with the fun at Friday Night Sew In over at Handmade by Heidi. They always have something fun going on. Great projects. Great prizes. My pillowcase project was inspired by one of the FNSI projects.

For today’s sew in, I completed one project.

My new fun handbag. A clutch. I am calling it Cats, The Musical.

I had pieced together the front from scraps.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I blogged about it months ago but it sat and sat and sat. Finally a couple days ago, I decided to work on it. I finished it today.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

No zipper for this one. Just snaps. One snap on the inside and one on the outside flap. I am working on a second little clutch like this but it will be slightly different.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I worked a bit on this.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The plan was to make one long table runner and cut up the rest into smaller placemats. But now I have decided to make a picnic blanket. I have lots of blue denim so I am going to try that. Will be nice and sturdy on the back and should be able to hold up in the grass and dirt. But first I have to decide whether I want a blue denim sashing going down the center. I will work on it tomorrow.

Also these are in the works…

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

One is quilted and ready to become a zippered pouch. And one (orange/turquoise) has been pieced (all from scraps) and ready to be quilted. Not sure what I will make. Probably a large handbag. I was auditioning white fabric with it today. Yuck!! I just don’t “do” white fabric well. I will have to see what else I can use for borders. The photo in the back is a little clutch I am working on. Doing a tutorial for it.

Well, that does it for what I worked on today for Friday Night Sew In.

But before I go, I want to show you what came in today’s mail. I won this HUGE box of selvage scraps on eBay. 2500 strips. 6″ by 2″. Wow!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Most with the selvage manufacturer’s markings. Many designer fabrics. I so wanted to dig through the box and play with the strips. But I resisted. I wanted to continue working on my UFO’s and not be tempted. I’ll go through the box in a few days. For sure I will blog about them. Aren’t you seeing lots of projects!!

This came today too. Lucy’s Crab Shack charm pack.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

After flipping through the squares, I had to quickly put them away. I so wanted to pull out a few and get started. But again I resisted. Another day. A whole day of looking and thinking. Just me and Lucy!! Can’t wait.

Hope you are having a great weekend doing something you love. :D


Go here to check out Heidi’s site.

http://www.handmadebyheidi.blogspot.com/2012/06/june-friday-night-sew-in-signup.html


Linking to…

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/06/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-babies-are.html

http://conniekresin.blogspot.com/p/linky-party-tuesdays.html

10 comments on “FNSI: My New Clutch… Cats, The Musical

  1. I pinned your GORGEOUS!!! clutch! :)

  2. Mary W says:

    Love your clutch. Great fabric choices! Selvages! Oh my you do win the coolest things!!

  3. Carol says:

    OMGosh!! The fabric combo of your Kitty Klutch is perfection. So cute. I have that fabric and the music note fabric too. I think I’ll have to dig around and find it.

  4. don_mae says:

    THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!

    I wish I had a second pair of hands.

  5. Laurie says:

    Love Love Love your Cats….I am amazed at all you’ve accomplished!!

  6. cliodana says:

    beautiful cat fabric, love the clutch

  7. billiemick says:

    Too Cute…..Cats the Musical….grin. The clutch is amazing.

  8. Sue Daurio says:

    The clutch is just super cute. And that box of salvage strips, I think there was a little bit of drool that I just wiped off :)

  9. Connie says:

    Your clutch is so cute! I think I have some of that kitty fabric too. What a neat box of selvage strips, can’t wait to see what you do with them! Your picnic blanket is going to be wonderful. Thanks for sharing!
    Quilting at the River Linky Party Tuesday

  10. I LOVE the bag! It is adorable!

Leave a Reply

