Spring Bead Challenge Reveal


OK, now I can show you my entries to Crystal’s Bead Challenge. No more sneak peeks. I entered two designs. A copper butterfly necklace set and a blue beaded necklace.

Crystal posted the results today on her blog, Beadhappilyeverafter. There’s some real talent out there. Such pretty jewelry!!

My inspiration came from beads and bead caps I found at Crystal’s Etsy Shop. (You can see what inspired each entrant here in this photo I borrowed from her blog. :D )

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

First, let me tell you about my butterfly set.

I gathered what I thought I would use to create my necklace. A bit of this and a bit of that. After experimenting for a couple of hours, trying different colors of beads, I ended up not using all that you see here in the photo.

From this.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

To this.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Supplies used in addition to Crystal’s bead caps:

  • antique copper butterflies
  • banded agate round beads
  • antique copper star spacers
  • antique copper curved tubes
  • antique copper hammered clasps
  • copper ribbed rondelles (for bracelet)
  • seed beads, size 6/0 (for bracelet)
  • stringing wire

My second entry, a blue necklace, was last minute. I hadn’t planned to make it. But since my beading tools were already out on my craft table, I said, what the heck, “Let’s make something else.” I had been wanting to make something with these two-holed blue beads, just hadn’t decided what. After sorting through my supplies and putting “anything with blue” in a bowl, I got started.

From this…

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

To this.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Supplies used in addition to Crystal’s 2-holed blue beads:

  • an assortment of blue beads
  • seed beads, size 8/0 and 11/0
  • toggle clasp with Swarovski sapphire crystals
  • stringing wire

I really enjoyed participating in this challenge. My creative juices were overflowing. I was relaxed and let my fingers do what my mind saw.

Oh, BTW, guess whose name was picked by Random Generator for 1st Prize? ME!!!
Look at all these beady goodies I won.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Aren’t they beautiful? Beady Eyecandy!! Can’t wait to get them. I already have ideas. Thanks so much, Crystal.

Also, thank you for hosting your 3rd Bead Challenge. All of the designs are really pretty. I am looking forward to your next challenge.


Go here to see all Bead Challenge entries and the prize winners.

http://beadhappilyeverafter.com/blog/?p=19092

Here is the link to Crystal’s Etsy Shop. She has wonderful products. Check it out!!

http://www.etsy.com/shop/beadhappilyeverafter

13 comments on “Spring Bead Challenge Reveal

  1. Betty says:

    Very creative. I just love the butterflles. Can I get the necklace and pin set?

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Betty, thanks much!! I haven’t made the pin yet to go with the necklace you want. Not really sure how to make it. Haven’t made many pins. Maybe one or two. Will have to look at my bead books for ideas. :D

  2. Deb says:

    OMG Donna I am in love with that butterfly set! It is incredible! Totally more like wearable art then anything else. *swoons* lol

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Debra, thank you so much. I really miss beading. Maybe I will rest my sewing machine for awhile and get back to it. How about you? Are you getting the beading feeling? :D

      • Deb says:

        I am, but I’m having a problem with sitting still long enough to get started. Actually been kinda busy fro once, which is nice, but not making that any easier… lol.

  3. gabrielaquintana says:

    I love the butterfly necklace ! Beautiful!

  4. don_mae says:

    Wow!! I never heard of that. Amazing!! Love that purse.

  5. Lennette says:

    Oh my gosh Donna, that butterfly necklace is one of the prettiest pieces of jewelry that I’ve ever seen!!!! You constantly amaze me with your creativity and talent!!!!

    • don_mae says:

      Thank you, Lennette. Kind of reminds you of the set you have, doesn’t it? I love working with metal butterflies. I have a few left. Thanks for stopping by. :D

  6. Crystal says:

    After seeing your spectacular designs for this challenge, Donna, I can only imagine the gorgeous-ness you will eventually make with the vintage treasures you won! Have fun and thanks again for entering. :-D

  7. Deb says:

    I am awaiting approval to be a vendor at our local gay pride festival in June. I doubt I’m going to do any more sewing (unless maybe I decide to do a few rainbow purses) and am really focusing on jewelry this time. I picked up a few display racks and am busy busy with making stuff! Also put in an order with Fire Mountain and besides some specific things, I ordered some assortments and some pre-made necklaces that I’ll probably cut apart and make into other things. So much fun!

Leave a Reply

