Another Zip Bag… With Scissors


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I bought so much fabric last year that I can’t even remember what I have. My eyes light up when I see a piece I had forgotten all about. Like this burgundy “scissors” fabric. I knew I had the Moda scissors in white, black and bright orange.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So, when I saw the burgundy (Cranston Print Works) under layers of other fabric, you should have seen me jumping for joy. They would be my next zip bag.

This one is a little different than the first two. I added some embellishments.

  • Black polka dot grosgrain ribbon
  • Huge black/white/burgundy buttons
  • Ball and chains

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I know, I know. I have said it many times. But I am loving this one too.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here are more photos I took.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Can’t you just see a larger version of this. Maybe one with snaps instead of a zipper.

Do you like working with zippers? They are kind of pricey, aren’t they? Where do you get yours?

I am going to make two more little zip bags and then I will spend some time with my umbrella blocks. Need to decide on mini quilt, lap quilt or bed sized.


Go here for tutorial to make your own little zippy bag.

http://www.modabakeshop.com/2011/04/strippy-charm-pouch.html


Linking up to..

http://bowdabrablog.com/2012/05/12/saturday-showcase-craft-projects/

http://sewhappygeek.co.uk/index.php/2012/05/06/manic-monday-linky-party-36/

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/05/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-heartstrings.html

18 comments on “Another Zip Bag… With Scissors

  1. Claudette says:

    Absolutely fab!!

  2. Karen says:

    I love the bag. The fabrics you used are awesome. You send the bag to me if you want. LOL. Great finish.

  3. marion says:

    I love your bag :) I buy my zippers from zipit on etsy. The last batch I bought ended up being about 34 cents a piece with shipping :) http://www.etsy.com/shop/zipit

  4. sdaurio says:

    Great bag! I just love that feeling when you found something totally awesome in your stash that you completely forgot about, just too much fun!

  5. QuiltnMama says:

    I’ve NEVER sewn a zipper into anything but for a bag that cute I’ll have to give them a try!

  6. gabrielaquintana says:

    oooh very very nice! Always useful for ladies!

  7. Deb says:

    The first one was cute, but I LOVE this one! This would make a great gift to someone who does hair I think.

    • don_mae says:

      It would!!

      • Deb says:

        I think I am going to try to make one of these sometime in the next week or so. :)

      • don_mae says:

        You could make a couple with your dress fabrics. That would be cute.

        (I forgot to say, thank you) :D

      • Deb says:

        I was thinking of using some of the “posh” pieces I have that I bought from somewhere that aren’t big enough on their own for anything… I’ve got quite a bit of different satiny type fabrics in various earthy tones.

  8. Janet K says:

    How awesome is this bag in scissors? I love it. Also buy zippers from Zipit on etsy – it’s a great shop!

  9. Sara says:

    Totally fun and cool!!

  10. Donna Stark says:

    WOW!! Love that bag Donna. You are always so full of ideas!
    Keep up the good work!

  11. This bag is so pretty. I love the fabrics that you used and the way you embellished with buttons.

  12. Sarah C. says:

    How cute is that bag? I love the scissors – and your embellishments are perfect! Whoop whoop!!

  13. don_mae says:

    Thank you, everyone. Love reading your comments!!

    I will have another little zippered bag to show you tomorrow. I have been experimenting with zipper insertion and have a look I am finally happy with.

Leave a Reply

