MAY For Me Minutes… MAY For Me Month


May is going to be a fun month for ME, I just know it.

I can feel the excitement!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I finished this little zippered bag yesterday and love it so much that I spent an hour just looking at it. Carrying it around. Hooked it around my finger when I went downstairs for tea. Hooked it back around my finger to go back upstairs. I just wanted it near me. Next to me. To look at.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I used one of my scrappy blocks I showed you a couple days ago. (Here’s the back, the lining with pocket and carrying strap.)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

But wanted something different for the bottom. A squared off bottom. I found this tutorial at Moda Bake Shop.

http://www.modabakeshop.com/2011/04/strippy-charm-pouch.html

No problems. Great instructions. However, I did have two very scary moments that caused me pause.

First, I had to cut out chunks of my quilted handiwork. Yikes!! I panicked for about 30 seconds when I thought I had cut into the TOP instead of the bottom. Whew!! OK. Got through the surgery part.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The next heart attack moment was when I did THIS.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have never chopped off a zipper before. Until making this zippered bag, I really hadn’t thought of doing such a thing. But I did it. The world didn’t end. My zipper didn’t fall apart. It works just fine. Another exhale.

Here are a few more photos I took.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Will I make more? You betcha!! Fabric combinations dancing around in my head.

And look at this… I turned my panic moments into something fun.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

MAY will be great. My Taking Chances Month. Trying Something New Month. Hope you will come along for the ride.


Linking up to…

http://bowdabrablog.com/2012/05/12/saturday-showcase-craft-projects/

http://sewhappygeek.co.uk/index.php/2012/05/06/manic-monday-linky-party-36/

http://marciascraftysewing.blogspot.com/p/may-for-me.html

http://marciascraftysewing.blogspot.com/

9 comments on “MAY For Me Minutes… MAY For Me Month

  1. Carol says:

    Hi Donna
    Its a GREAT bag! Gotta tell you, I love those cats too. Everybody cuts zippers off. I never tried it…but I WILL….

  2. Margaret says:

    I love your bag. I made my first zip pouch last year for a swap. The idea of buying a little longer zipper and cutting it seemed weird but it makes for much easier zippers. I do all mine that way now. Looking forward to seeing more bags from you. They are just too cute.

  3. Lennette says:

    Good for you for making May a month just for YOU Donna!!!!! I am in love with the awesome bags you’re making!!!!!!

  4. don_mae says:

    Thank you, thank you.

    I am working on another one. Love making them.

  5. Crystal says:

    Me, too!!!!! (raising hand in agreement!) :-D
    I LOVE little cloth zipper bags – I have several from etsy sellers.
    Yours are so pretty, Donna!
    Great fabric choices and I like the pocket – sometimes the small bags don’t have one, but it’s really nice to have.

  6. Cool zipper bags! Love them! You can never have enough of these! Thanks for sharing them at Minutes for Me Linky Party!
    Enjoy your day!

  7. concretekathy says:

    Pretty bag. Thumbs up on the pocket. The more the better in my opinion.
    Kathy

  8. Oh my goodness this is awesome!

    We would LOVE for you to stop over and link these up in our Crafty Saturday Showcase. It is just our 2nd week. Your blog is cute and we can’t wait to look around some more! I love the name of your blog!

    Thank you!
    Susie @Bowdabra
    http://bowdabrablog.com/2012/05/12/saturday-showcase-craft-projects/

Leave a Reply

