Fussy Cut Scrap Zipped Bag


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And just when I was getting my scraps under control….. I ended up with all of these… from all that fussy cutting last week.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I laid out a few of the larger pieces.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And ended up with this.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

At first, I was going to make yet another mug rug. But decided to make my first little zippered bag instead. I know most of you HATE working with zippers. I don’t hate them but I rarely sew with them. My problem is that every time I want to use one, it is either too short or too long for whatever I am making. Just so happened this time the zipper was perfect for the scraps I had pieced together.

I used this striped fabric for the back.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

For the inside pocket, I pieced together more scraps and added a lime polka dot.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

For the lining, I used my “go to” fabric. Black polka dots.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This zippered bag wasn’t hard to make just slow going since it was my first one and I wasn’t 100% sure what I was doing. I used my walking foot to quilt the front. Just straight lines. And used my double sided zipper foot to sew the zipper. It worked great!!

After sewing the zipper, I flattened the bag, stitched all around, leaving an opening. Just large enough for my hand to fit inside so I could pull the inside out.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I hand stitched the opening. Poked out the ends. And done!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I pieced together more “tops” from my fussy cut left overs. I will probably make more zippered bags. The next ones will be slightly different. I know of a couple of areas I could improve on. I need the practice.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is my favorite.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It will take a month to work through my fussy cut bag of scraps.

And speaking of fussy cuts… those extra ones I cut.. I put the names of those who left a comment saying they wanted them in a basket. Hubby pulled one name. Nicole. Hey, Nicole!! Please send me your name and address so I can get the 2 1/2″ squares in the mail. Thanks much. And thank you, everyone, for leaving a comment. :D


Linking up to…

http://conniekresin.blogspot.com/2012/04/linky-party-tuesday_30.html

http://sewhappygeek.co.uk/index.php/2012/04/30/manic-monday-linky-party-35/

4 comments on “Fussy Cut Scrap Zipped Bag

  1. Deb says:

    That little bag is so cute. I have that on my to-do list this year- I want to make a little zipper “wallet” for my change, cards, cash… Right now I have a tiny little woven fabric one from Guatemala. It does the trick, but its tiny! My bank cards and such barely fit in it with my loose change.

  2. Carol says:

    These are so cute!! Your fav is my fav too!

  3. Connie says:

    What a cute little tote and a perfect way to use up scraps! Great tutorial, thanks for sharing!

  4. Darling little zippered bag. Nice job writing up the tute, too. Thanks.
    Hey… love your fabric bits. I wanna come play in your cast offs! lol. Kitty fabric is super.

Leave a Reply

