Making Progress… One Bingo Block Finished… One To Go


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

OK, finished the first one. The block for my Bingo Game with my quilt group. The squares are sewn together, rows sewn together.

I think it came out nice. I like it. Here’s a close up.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

When I was trying to decide how to display it, I remembered this cookbook stand that I bought at Michaels about five years ago.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I used it once at a craft show to display some of my necklaces. It is perfect for my Bingo block. I am going to use white buttons to mark the called out squares. And pin the buttons to the corkboard.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Green row: stripe, leaf, novelty, batik, heart
Blue row: geometric, star, 1930, plaid, oriental
Purple/Pink row: metallic, paisley, black (free space), dots, floral
Red row: floral, heart, stripe, holiday, novelty
Orange/Yellow row: dots, solid, novelty, butterfly, holiday

All fabrics accounted for.

So.. this one is done. And ready for the 15th when the game begins.


The 2nd game I told you about… you won’t believe how much time it took me to gather up my fabric and charms. This is just some of it. I ended up pulling down from the shelves all of my blue, yellow, red, green and purple fabrics.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Then fussy cut the novelty squares. Several hours. For real!! But it was worth it.

Look!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

After seeing the photos, I think I am going to make a couple changes. The red sugar bowl and the green coffee cup side by side looks too similar. Gonna move one. And not sure how much I like that blue football. Not loving it. So, have to see what else I can put there.

Then I have to sew the squares together, add a border, quilt it and bind it. And also put the BINGO letters at the top.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Should be finished in a few days. I am early for a change. Doesn’t have to be completely finished until the 22nd. Plenty of time for me to pretty it up. :D


Linking up to:

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2012/04/finish-it-up-friday-week-22.html

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/04/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-very-best-of.html

http://richardquilts.blogspot.com/2012/04/link-finish-friday-10.html

14 comments on “Making Progress… One Bingo Block Finished… One To Go

  1. Crystal says:

    Cute, cute, CUTE!!! (especially the second one!) :-)

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Crystal.

      I made several changes to the 2nd one. More fussy cutting. I was going to make more like this.. but now don’t know… too much fussy cutting. :D

  2. Susan says:

    I like both of your bingo cards. I usually take photos of things to make decisions when I’m auditioning fabrics or putting blocks together. The camera sees things I don’t. And vice versa! I linked from RichardQuilts. The e-mail address isn’t right, but it won’t let me post if I put the right one in! The first s is a z.

  3. How cute! I finished mine last night. It was fun picking out all the little fussy cut fabrics! Why did you make two?

  4. Mickey White says:

    very nice work ! these are really cool !

  5. Carol says:

    OMGosh, I especially like this one. Too cute. Hope you win and hope they are all as cute as yours.

  6. Crystal says:

    I know what you mean, Donna!
    Sometimes a project is so time-consuming or “fussy” – that one lovely finished piece is enough. It’s going to be absolutely adorable though! I think it would make a fabulous greeting card or framed print for a child’s room! Have you ever thought of taking a photo of it and then printing cards, etc.?

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Crystal!! I am just about finished and ready for the reveal. I am in love with the outcome and did decide to make more… for an idea I have running around in my head.

      No, I hadn’t thought to turn any of my photos into cards. I have lots of glossy photo papers/cards. Something to think about. :D

  7. Thank you for linking up love the bingo board. Mine is also done need to prod my wife and little girl to finish theirs before we run out of time.

    http://richardquilts.blogspot.com
    http://blog.beccacooks.com

  8. Betty says:

    Hi Donna

    How are you and yours? You are so very busy. There are so many beautiful items that you have One of the ladies at my church saw a bag I carry some time. She really likes mine. Do you have any bags that you made that are just half the size of the bags that you make? It does not have to have a zipper. Have a wonderful day!!

    • don_mae says:

      Hey Betty.. e-mail me. What does the bag you carry look like? I don’t have any fabric bags made up. Would have to see what your friend wants.

Leave a Reply

