Macrame Easter Basket… Pretty In Pink


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It is finished.

Finished and already headed to New York. It is due for delivery this Friday.

This pink Easter basket was a custom order from a lady who saw my macrame work on Etsy. She inquired if I would make this basket for her daughter. For Easter. She wanted hot pink cord with yellow beads. She even sent me the pattern. I was only able to find a lighter shade of pink cord on such short notice. And couldn’t find enough yellow beads. Needed 22 large oval beads. Boy, didn’t realize they would be so hard to find!!

But after three trips to my macrame supplier and sifting through four huge bins of beads, I found enough oval beads to get started. In hot pink.  Thank goodness that store (been shopping there since 1980) is just a hop, skip and a jump away.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So… the basket is made, the center cords are unbraided and fluffed out.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Wish I could be there to see the little girl’s face when her mom presents the basket to her. I am seeing brightly colored dyed Easter eggs, chocolate bunnies and a jumbo bow attached to the side. I will just have to imagine the delight in her eyes. Same as the delight I get from looking at the photos.

Now I need to rest up for about half a day before beginning anything new. Or even anything old. :D

What are your Easter plans?


Linking up to:

http://www.oopseydaisyblog.com/2012/04/wednesdays-wowzers-14.html

http://richardquilts.blogspot.com/2012/04/link-finish-friday-10.html

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2012/04/finish-it-up-friday-week-22.html

15 comments on “Macrame Easter Basket… Pretty In Pink

  1. gabrielaquintana says:

    ooh you fluffed out the cords! great great idea!
    My only plan for this Easter is eat a lot of chocolate :)

  2. Deb says:

    So cute Donna! A little girl is going to be very happy when she gets it!

    • don_mae says:

      Yep, I just checked the tracking. The basket is in New York now. Not delivered yet but I am thinking tomorrow.

      I used more of the scraps you sent me. :D

  3. Bonnie says:

    Such a cute basket. I used to do macrame baskets a long time ago, but never thought of fluffing the center cords. Someone is going to be super happy on Easter.

  4. Crystal says:

    My 30-something daughters had this type of Easter basket. I ordered them from a lady I met, who was set up in the booth next to mine at a craft show, about 30 years ago! I’ve always loved them. One is lavender and white variegated, and the other is pink. Both had the cords fluffed to resemble Easter grass. The only addition was a little bunny made of loops of matching cord with a barrel bead that was painted with a bunny face. The bunny sat in the basket as a decoration. Last spring, I finally turned the baskets over to my girls. After all, a Mom can only store stuff for so long! lol ;-)

    Lovely job on yours Donna! Happy Easter! xo

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Crystal!!

      What fun macrame was back then!! I was on that Craft Show Circuit, too. Every other weekend smiling, trying to sell my stuff. I am glad to see it make a come back as the younger kids discover it. :D

      • Karen says:

        I use to do this but can’t find stores that sale macrame supplies. Also looking for books with patterns and directions can you help me kjgrubbs@ yahoo.com I am living in Fl south of Orlando. My city is Davenport, the area has a lot of craft stores. Hope you can help me

  5. Kristi says:

    where can I get one? :)

  6. Susan says:

    Wow, that is so great! I’m sure that will be one happy little girl. I never thought of having a macrame basket! I linked from RichardQuilts

  7. Alison says:

    Absolutely incredible that you made this! :) Love the pink! Thanks for sharing at oopsey daisy!

  8. that is impressive! what a great finish. it looks so perfect!

    thanks for linking up to finish it up Friday!

  9. Way cute Easter Basket. My mom made me one many years ago. I should think about that for next year for the kids. Thanks for linking up.

    http://richardquilts.blogspot.com
    http://blog.beccacooks.com

  10. Charlene says:

    Made these for my children many years ago,, also for my God children,, today my Godchild asked me to make one for her gaughter and I have lost the pattern,, any chance you would share it?

Leave a Reply

