Can You Stand One More Bird? :)


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Well, two more. And one more pincushion. Now that March is here, I need to catch you up on what I made in February that I haven’t shown you.

Sorry, but I DO LOVE making these. So addicting.

AND I have some tips to share with you on making these birds, in case you plan to make a few.  And then I will get on with the other stuff you see in the photo.

Making Birds Tip 1: Reinforce the beak section with a patch of batting. When you turn the fabric inside out, you will only need to add a tiny bit of stuffing.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Making Birds Tip 2: This tip is from my husband. Use a thin pencil with an eraser on the end to push a tiny bit of stuffing into the beak. It worked well for me. He saw me struggling to fill the space. (Which is the real reason I decided to add a bit of batting first.)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Making Birds Tip 3: Don’t overstuff the neck area. Won’t topple over as much.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

OK, I am done making birds. You can take up where I left off. Have fun making them.


Now let me show you the rest of my “Bird and Pincushion” project. :D

I recycled this DVD box with zebra duct tape and made a carrying box for my two new birds.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Then I duct taped these quilting pins. Just to be different.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.comImage Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here they are stuck in my new Cathedral Window pincushion which I also love making.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Sigh!! Got to move on. Can’t keep making the same old stuff. Can’t keep showing you the same old stuff, even though in different colors.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Time to move on to something else. Next!!


Friday Linky Parties. Check them out!!

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/03/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-busy-week.html

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2012/03/finish-it-up-friday-week-17.html

6 comments on “Can You Stand One More Bird? :)

  1. Carol says:

    How fun!!! I love your birds, BUT, I think I like the purple the best.

  2. Connie says:

    Some more great birds! You are having fun!

  3. Crystal says:

    I totally understand how fun it is to try a new item or pattern, and then want to make a bunch of them in different styles or fabrics.

    Love your use of the DVD box! And hubby is too cute helping you! It’s nice to have a live-in supporter of your creativity! :-)

    If a pencil isn’t handy – a crochet hook can often be just the thing to arrange stuffing in a small space. Choose a hook size that will fit without putting too much pressure on the seam.

  4. Sarah C. says:

    How fun! I especially love the duct taped pins!! Whoop whoop!!

  5. Linda says:

    Sweet! I’ve made a few fabric birds. It’s fun but I wouldn’t want to make a ton of them. I like the way yours turned out. Best wishes, Linda

  6. How fun! The red and zebra prints look great together, and the pincushion is a neat twist on a cathedral window! What a great idea!

Leave a Reply

