SS Holiday: St Patrick’s Day Table Topper


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I wanted to make a St Patrick’s Day quilt. Something small. Table topper for my SS Holiday series or a wall hanging. Maybe even a mug rug. I have a St Pat’s Mug Rug project due soon in my quilt group that I needed to be thinking about.

I have lots of green fabric but none in what I would consider a true St Pat’s green. A bright kelly green. And nothing even close to a traditional St Patrick’s Day fabric (think green shamrocks). Not wanting to add to my ever increasing stash, I decided to make do. Make it work!!.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And “making it work” means just that. Time to put on the BLINDERS. Time to block out what has gone on before. Time to just make what I want with whatever colors and fabrics I want.

This was my Inspiration Fabric. Some green. Even cups and mugs. Perfect!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

These are the fabrics and colors I picked from my stash. I cut little 1 1/2″ squares from each.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Brown polka dots would be the center, the base to build around.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I Googled shamrock template and found a couple I could use. The largest one, I enlarged it twice to make two slightly bigger shamrocks. Then I ironed lightweight Pellon to the backs.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here I am testing shamrock placement and a green border.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I used Steam-A-Seam2 to hold the shamrocks in place.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And now ready to applique.

Well, actually ready to test out the Blanket Stitch on my sewing machine. But first, since I had dusted off my sewing machine manual and WAS READING IT (be still my heart)… I did a bit of Twin Needle stitching. Yuck!! Don’t know about you but not my cup of tea. It bunched in the back so I removed all of it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

OK, back to applique blanket stitching. Here’s my practice piece. (You can see my twin needle practicing here too.)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Ready to sew. Blanket stitching we go!! My 1st time ever doing it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Applique done. Quilting done.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Ready for the binding. I selected this color to bring in the shamrock navy.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And FINISHED!! Ready to place on a table or hang on the wall. It measures 22″ by 17″.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


You can read about my SS Holiday series here.

http://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2011/12/23/s-s-holiday-table-runners-for-the-holidays/


What are your plans for St Patrick’s Day? Are you sewing anything?


Linking up to:

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2012/03/finish-it-up-friday-week-17.html

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/03/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-busy-week.html

http://conniekresin.blogspot.com/2012/02/linky-party-tuesday_28.html

http://howsweetthesound.typepad.com/my_weblog/2012/03/pink-saturday-march-17-2012.html

22 comments on “SS Holiday: St Patrick’s Day Table Topper

  1. Mike P. says:

    Nice mini!!! I have no idea how to applique. Now I’m inspired ;)

  2. I think the greens are great. Nice piece.

    I don’t decorate for St. Pat’s Day. Living near South Bend, I wouldn’t want anyone to think
    I’m a Notre Dame Fan!!
    xx, Carol

  3. Val E. Wales, UK says:

    Another clever and inspired creation, Donna. A peek at some of the aerial views of Ireland in google images shows how your colour choices reflect the real thing!! Here in Wales St David’s Day (1st March) is celebrated with golden daffodils and the red/black/white of national costume.

  4. Sue Daurio says:

    Well you certainly did make do with what you have and it is wonderful. I love your inspiration fabric and where that lead with the choices, it looks great!!

  5. Love the sparkle of all the different fabrics!

  6. MC says:

    That’s adorable! I really like the polka dot fabrics you chose.

  7. Connie says:

    What a beautiful table topper! You are definitely ready for St Patrick’s Day! Thanks for linking!

  8. niki says:

    love this, looksgreat

  9. Really nice shamrocks! Like the polka dots also. You are always creating so many things, I don’t know how you do it.

  10. Vicki says:

    I like using a blanket stitch for applique.. yours looks great! Love your blue dot binding, too!

  11. Eiieen says:

    Very cute ST.Patties quilt, and it is just around the corner

  12. Kati Rozsnyo says:

    You did REALLY good with your first time blanket stitching! And I truly love the polka dots! Great job :)

  13. sharon says:

    This just a wonderful tutorial and great St. Pat. project, Thank you for sharing.

  14. mary says:

    Very nice job. I would have never realized the fabrics weren’t specifically St. Patty’s if you hadn’t said anything.

    For St. Patty’s I will be at a quilt retreat in Texas.

  15. Linnea says:

    I love how your topper turned out! Looks awesome! Good job attempting stitches new to you. You were brave!

  16. Sarah C. says:

    What a beautiful piece! I love your greens, and your blanket stitch looks wonderful! Whoop whoop!!

  17. msminnesota says:

    I love it! It’s so fun!!

  18. I love this! Might be a little to ambitious for me though. Now following :)

  19. amandajean says:

    great job! i like the asymetrical green border!

    thanks for linking up to finish it up Friday!

  20. Alison says:

    WOW! I am jealous of all your gorgeous fabrics. This turned out fantastic, and I love those shamrocks! Thanks for sharing at oopsey daisy!

  21. don_mae says:

    Happy St Patrick’s Day!!

    Thanks so much for all of your wonderful comments on my table mat.

    I ended up gifting it to a very good friend of mine. We have been friends since the 70′s and she is Irish. Love ya, Avis!!

  22. So beautiful!

    Pink slippers, hope you’d come and see. Have a blessed Sunday!

Leave a Reply

