Wish I Could Keep You… But You Have To Go Home


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Have you ever worked on a project that you enjoyed so much you hated to see it end? So, you purposely dragged it out. That happened to me with my Brown Bag Project. A project from my quilt group.

You are probably saying, “What’s a Brown Bag project?”

It’s a project where you send off a bag of scraps to your quilt partner and she makes something FOR YOU FROM YOUR SCRAPS. Not sure why it is called Brown Bag since any bag would work. Zip Lock even. But it just sounds more mysterious. Actually it could be called the Mystery Project because you have no idea what will be sent back. I will show you what I sent once I have my completed item back. So you can see the before and after.

But I can do a Show and Tell of what my quilt partner sent me and what I made for her.


BEFORE

These are the scraps she sent per the guidelines. Nothing larger than a Fat Quarter or smaller than a 5″ square. A mix of purples and lavenders.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

OH!! I forgot to tell you. I was allowed to use one fabric from my own stash and batting. This is what I used. A dark purple and lavender fabric.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


AFTER

First, I made a table mat. Would also be pretty as a wall hanging. It measures 18″ by 18″.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I used my Double Strip Ruler to cut the triangles and I have to tell you, the seams lined up perfectly. No stressing out. I will definitely use it again.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Still lots of scraps left so I made a table runner. It measures 28″ by 12″.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I just love the look of these two fabrics together. One is a Batik. And the other, a soft cotton print.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And then, with still some scraps left, I made two stuffed birds. Are you getting the picture? LOL. I don’t want this project to end. :D

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And lastly… I had just enough fabric left to make the pincushion I showed you a few days ago.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Ha!! You thought I made that pincushion for myself, eh. I wish, but nope, it goes HOME too. :(

Everything gets shipped off today. I will be sad to see it go but all things must come to an end. Can’t wait for my quilt partner to see what I made from her scraps. I hope she likes. I know I do!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Go here to read about the making of my pincushion.

http://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2012/02/18/cathedral-window-pincushion/


Have you ever done a Brown Bag Swap? What did you make?


Bird pattern here.

http://www.spoolsewing.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2008/06/birdpattern1-1.pdf

Pincushion pattern here.

http://www.rileyblakedesigns.com/cutting-corners/2012/02/17/cathedral-window-pincushion/


Linking up to:

http://conniekresin.blogspot.com/2012/02/linky-party-tuesday_28.html

Thanks, Connie!!

21 comments on “Wish I Could Keep You… But You Have To Go Home

  1. Val E. Wales, UK says:

    Well Donna, you’ve done it again….. I just LOVE the luscious lavender and purple floral fabric from your stash!!!! In fact your entire Brown Bag gift collection is so lovely, the jewel quality of your creations always makes me smile! To quote from Jimmy Hendrix ‘Purple Haze’….. You’ve got me blowin, blowin my mind. And that doesn’t happen too often at my age…

  2. Jude says:

    Love it all, Donna. I’ll send you some scraps any time, brown bag, ziplock or any kind of bag. :D

  3. Donna! The wall hanging is mesmerizing. Your color choice and block placement is absolutely wonderful!! I love all the projects but that wall hanging is perfection.
    xx, Carol

  4. What a great set to get in the post, I am sure your quilt partner will love it all, I would!

  5. Deb says:

    These are gorgeous! Love the way the colors go together so perfectly! And I really do have to make me a couple of those birds now!

  6. don_mae says:

    Thanks much, everyone, for your comments on my work. Really love reading them.

    I have a couple tips on making the birds that I will post. And I made more. :D

    Jude, send me your scraps!! That would be a riot. Seriously…

  7. sharon says:

    Just lovely fabric you received – that is a plus for inspiration. I did one bag swap – ugly fabric swap – for a lap quilt size and the quilts went to charity.

  8. Emily says:

    What a fun idea! You made some pretty things.

  9. Mike P. says:

    Never done a swap! I would probably have to mail the swap. I don’t know anyone who quilts etc. in New Jersey.

  10. Gee – can I send you some scraps?

  11. Carla V. says:

    Wow that is just lovely,… all of them! Great idea and I’ll have to share it with my quilting guild.

  12. Linda says:

    These are all so beautiful and beautifully done!

  13. Cheryl says:

    Someone will be a happy lady. What cute things you made with her scraps. I’ll have to remember this idea for my quilt guilds. What fun!

  14. Michelle says:

    Um….if your partner doesn’t like these items, you can send them to me!!! :-)

  15. Heather says:

    Oh my gosh, she is going to LOVE it! What an awesome job you did on this swap! :)

  16. Sarah C. says:

    Oh, those are wonderful! What a wonderful treasure trove you made from her scraps! Whoop whoop!!

  17. Sue Daurio says:

    Wow, you really stretched those fabrics as far as you could. What LOVELY things you made out of that little brown bag. Those colors were just amazing, especially after what you did with them. Great job.

  18. Taryn says:

    Gorgeous! Your partner is very lucky! I love the whole brown bag idea!

  19. rosa says:

    The wallhanging is absolutely awesome and the birds…are so nice.Great job!!

  20. Connie says:

    What fantastic projects! They all look perfect together and again your little birds are so cute! Thanks for linking!

  21. amandajean says:

    what a fun idea for a scrap swap! you did a great job using the scraps.

    thanks for linking up to finish it up Friday!

Leave a Reply

