Meet My New Birds: The Flappers


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It’s the middle of February… so that means Spring is only a few miles away, right?

Am I rushing things a bit? Yep, I am.

Snow season is winding down and I am so ready for the warmth of the sun. And the sounds of spring. In my head, I have skipped ahead and hear chirping. I guess you could say I have birds on the brain.

I recently saw this fabric bird pattern on the net and decided to try it.

http://www.spoolsewing.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2008/06/birdpattern1-1.pdf

This is the first one I made.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It came out smaller than I wanted so I played around with the sizing and enlarged it on my computer. Then made a practice one to make sure the pieces still lined up. Made several enlarged ones until I got the size I wanted.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Then I decided to do something different with the tail. I tried sticking a piece of cross-stitch plastic inside the tail to give it more weight. I wanted the nose raised a bit higher. Nope, would melt when pressed.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Next I tested adding buttons to the tail. One on top and one on the underside. That seemed to work. The nose lifted more. The flap idea was so the button didn’t stand out like a sore thumb.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.comImage Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I didn’t put any stuffing inside the tail. Just ironed in a piece of lightweight Pellon, pinked the tail edges and sewed on the flap and buttons.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I really like how these turned out and have other ideas for them. And I am going to work on a different design I have in my head.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Are YOU ready for Spring?


Fabrics used:

  • Michael Miller’s Clown Stripes and Citron Gray (Bird Swing and Quarter Dot)
  • 3 different Henry Glass’ Party In Pink
  • Gray polka dot, black polka dot and yellow print fabrics came from JoAnn’s
24 comments on “Meet My New Birds: The Flappers

  1. Dorothy says:

    Thanks for the directions on these cute birds! I am in the process of making some wild looking rooster pin cushions. I think I have gone to the birds too

  2. Deb says:

    I think I’ve seen these before, and I loved them then and I love them now! What cute fabric choices you used! I may need to try my hand at these too, though I have no idea what I’ll do with them… lol.

  3. Lillian Dummer says:

    Love the Birds I have to make some of them. It is a must.

  4. Watch out when they start nesting!

  5. Karen says:

    What great birds. I love what you did with the tails.

  6. Sue Daurio says:

    Those birds are just so cute!! I’m so ready for spring.

  7. amandajean says:

    super cute birds! nice tweaks to the pattern, too! i made a few birds using this pattern awhile back and they are very fun.

    thanks for linking up to finish it up Friday!

  8. Vicki says:

    Really cute! I ready for spring, too:)

  9. Alycia says:

    Oh My Gosh!! Those are adorable!! We still have snow in the forecast – but yes, I think we are ready for spring to come!! Thanks for making that happen in blog land ;-)

  10. Shannon says:

    so cute! Whoop Whoop (or chirp chirp, as the case may be)!

  11. Melissia says:

    Very cute ! And I am very impressed how you modified and improved them, much nicer.

  12. Shauna says:

    How cute your little group of birdies are! I too, am pining for Spring!

  13. Sarah C. says:

    Those little birds are so cute! I love the changes you made, and thanks for sharing your thought process. Whoop whoop!!

  14. Oi Donna, são lindos e a cauda deu mais graça aos pássaros. Parabéns
    Obrigada por compartilhar suas idéias, abraços carinhosos

    Maria said: Hi Donna, beautiful tails and gives more grace to the birds. Congratulations.
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts, loving hugs.

  15. Connie says:

    These are so cute, love how you changed the tail!

  16. Jeanette says:

    These birds are so cute! Love the fabrics.

  17. These are so cute. I have used that pattern, too!

  18. sarah says:

    Sew cute! They would make cute favors at a spring themed tea party.

  19. Billie in TX says:

    Absolutely love your birds!

  20. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone. Sorry for being so late replying. I thought I left a comment. Must have imagined it. :D

    Thank you, thank you. I do hope you will try making these birds, if you haven’t already. But be warned. They are addicting. You won’t be able to make just one. I made a few more. Have to take photos to show you.

    Thanks again for your wonderful comments on my work. Hope you will come again.

  21. I made lots of these birds but i love the twist you added to the tail- it does balance them, I added wire feet to mine and the unstuffed tail kept them stable. Love your blog by the way!
    heather x

  22. Good morning…
    Very nice birds.
    Put them flying.
    What a wonderful sky…
    Thanks
    Maria Rosalia

  23. These are very very cute! Make a great mobile.

Leave a Reply

