Having Fun Trying To Meet Deadlines


Deadlines.. I guess I have sign-up-itis. I have so many “make it, finish it” deadlines coming up in the next few weeks, that I had to make a list.

In my quilt group there are two. Block Lotto, Win The Pot. This month’s blocks were easy. Spool blocks. I already made hundreds of the scrap blocks you start off with. Just needed to add the sides and tops. Mail out date is Jan 30.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

All of these aren’t going. I am keeping the orange ones. I have an idea for them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And second is something I have been thinking about making for sometime now. Even purchased a book. Fabric Postcards. I just need to make one with a Valentine-theme for my exchange partner. I went around the house (crafts supplies in every room :D ) collecting up red stuff.

There are lots of on-line sites with great instructions. I read quite a few but basically they all told me what my book did. What to do. What not to do. I have an idea. Several ideas. I will get started and see where it takes me. Postcard needs to be mailed by Feb 1st.

Here is the book I purchased a couple years ago. It has great templates!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


BEADS… Yay!! I get to fondle my beads. I have two beady challenges coming up.

The first is over at Bead Happily Ever After. Crystal’s 2nd bead challenge.

Valentine’s Day Design Challenge.

http://beadhappilyeverafter.com/blog/?p=18244
http://beadhappilyeverafter.com/blog/?page_id=17770

For this one, in my head is a necklace. Once I have all my supplies gathered, I will get started. For sure red and white. But I might toss in a little pink and/or purple. Just to be different. Deadline is Feb 10. Go check it out. Still time if you would like to enter.


And then there is Bead Soup Blog Party where I send off a package of beads and in return my assigned partner sends me a package of beads. A bead kit to make something. No seed beads so I will be dusting off my stringing and wireworking skills. Going to be interesting. Mail out date is January 31. Reveal date is March 3. I will post what I made here on that date. My partner does the same on her blog. You can see the list of all the participants here.

http://lorianderson-beadsoupblogparty.blogspot.com/


And lastly… I have a few of my own personal deadlines. Things to challenge myself. New (to me) quilting techniques and never-tried-before blocks. All before the end of first quarter. So as you can see, I am going to be busy, busy…

Hope you will return to see them all. Thanks for stopping by. :D

5 comments on “Having Fun Trying To Meet Deadlines

  1. Gosh are you busy!!
    I love those fabric post cards. But I have to admit, its hard to make something like that and send it away. And worry about it in the post. Do you really send them as a post card or in an envelope?

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Carol, I did read about some being damaged by going through the postal system but yep, you really can mail them. You have to have the words Post Card on it, be postcard size and it can not be over the thickness requirement. I will probably mail mine in an envelope. Interesting, huh!!

  2. naanpocen says:

    I am so looking forward to seeing more. I have been silently following your blog for over a year now, and your quilting has made me so interested in learning that I have just purchased my first batch of fabrics. only heaven knows what I will end up with. You inspire me. Thank you and Keep it up!!!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Naan, thank you!!

      I am so glad you are going to try quilting. I find it relaxing and gets my creative juices flowing. I sometimes get so excited when the ideas pop up that I can’t get them written down fast enough. Thanks for being a loyal follower of my blog. :D

  3. Crystal says:

    Oh, I LOVE the postcards! I’d want to frame them. :-)
    You *are* a busy lady – it all sounds like lots of fun, though.

    Thanks for mentioning the Bead Happily Ever After challenge. I’m really looking forward to that necklace! :-D

Leave a Reply

