How Would You Quilt This?


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Whew!! Finished!!

Took a week of..

  • planning
  • cutting
  • designing
  • taking photos
  • changing
  • sewing
  • pressing
  • taking photos

But finally, the quilt top is completed and now hangs on my design wall.

It measures approximately 66″ by 76″. In case your monitor displays my “pop” color as red, it is orange. Tangerine.

In the above photo I have the quilt turned on its side just to get it all in for the photo.

This is what it looked like before adding the borders.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

After adding the borders. The bottom is the top. Sorry you have to twist your head a bit. :D
Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I love this corner. The top right side. (Yes, I know. Another head twister. :D )

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Some areas could have been arranged differently. Even could have used full blocks instead of half ones in a few spaces. But hindsight just helps me on the next one. I am satisfied with how it looks.

Now I have to decide the best way to quilt it.

I could outline each square. Would take forever!! I could do straight lines inside each vertical column. One to the right of the seam and one to the left of the seam. Or I could outline each zig-zag section. Following up, down, all around. Or even diagonal lines, corner to corner?

After spending a week making the quilt top, I don’t really want to spend another week quilting it. I am so itching to get started on my next project.

Question to all you quilters out there….

How would you quilt my quilt top?


You can read my other posts about this quilt here.

http://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2012/01/09/starting-the-new-year-with-black-and-white-and-stripes/

http://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2012/01/10/sneak-peek-striped-zig-zag-quilt/

And another… :D

http://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2012/01/13/ok-i-approve-ready-to-sew/


I am linking this post to “Finish It Up Friday” over at CrazyMomQuilts. Go check them all out.

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2012/01/finish-it-up-friday-week-11.html

6 comments on “How Would You Quilt This?

  1. Jude says:

    Since it is geometrical in design, quilting in circles or curves of some kind would add an interesting “balance” to the overall quilt. Looks good! :)

  2. I’m not a quilter, not yet (unless you want to let cushion cases count) but if you want a vote, I would say outline each zig-zag section – it somehow seems easier to suggest somethign for you then decide how to quilt my own thing (it’s been waiting for almost a year).
    But what Jude’S suggesting sounds interesting too…. ahh seems it’s not so easy after all…

  3. Brandy M. says:

    I’m kind of playful with my quilting. I think, to play on all of the 90-degree angles, I would probably quilt it with some sort of swirly circles or something…
    I would not use a variegated thread with this, either. The colors are perfect as they are, and I think the variegated thread would get lost in this.

    Love it!

  4. don_mae says:

    Thank you, ladies…

    I will probably do all of the above. I like the circles and the straight sewing. I am thinking to use black thread. It will be forgiving on the back.

    I don’t have enough of any one fabric for the back, so I am going to do a pieced back.

  5. Kokopelli says:

    How about a stair pattern from one corner to the opposite one? And then a huge square following the inner border seam. Whatever, great work so far, Donna!

  6. Dorothy says:

    this is one wild and crazy quilt! I like outlining the zigzag, and then do swirly on the borders. Will look forward to the finished product.

Leave a Reply

