Sneak Peek: Striped Zig Zag Quilt


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Can you believe after two days this is all I have to show you? :D

I spent 1 1/2 days thinking, pondering, changing my mind (twice) and slowly cutting. My original plan was to do HST’s. Half Square Triangles. But cutting the strips on the diagonal would give me wonky bias pieces. And I was so not wanting to deal with misshaped half triangles.

So… I decided to cut the striped blocks in half horizontally. Then I added a black and white half block. I added one half block of tangerine in the oddball spaces on the left side.

It is really going slow. For now. I think once I am comfortable with my decision, I will go faster.

8 comments on “Sneak Peek: Striped Zig Zag Quilt

  1. Jude says:

    In music, this would be called counterpoint – two tunes (themes, in this case) working together – and you have successfully created a lovely quilt symphony here with your placement of these fabric choices and pattern design. Well done (again!) Donna. Love it. :)

  2. Deb says:

    This is very cool Donna! I love it!

  3. don_mae says:

    Hey Jude!! Hey Jude!! (get it, :D ) That perfectly describes what I am trying to accomplish.

    Hi Debra!!

    After looking at my picture above, I can see where I can improve on the placement. Thank you both. I am going to need some major comment love to get through this one. :D

  4. Jude says:

    “Hey Jude!” is a common greeting I get from folks. Yep, I get it. :)
    Keep posting updates (photos) so we can follow your progress. You’re going really well.

  5. Lillian Dummer says:

    I can believe it. Sometimes it takes me awhile just to think about it in my head before I pick out the material. You are doing great.

  6. Tanya says:

    Jude’s comment about comparing your quit to music is excellent! I can’t top that!

Leave a Reply

